Home   || Site Map ||    Contact Us

  Conjeevaram Srirangachari Seshadri

Edit Your Details  
Click Here !!

Name Dr CS Seshadri
(Dr Conjeevaram Srirangachari Seshadri)
FNA ID N73-0737
Address Director-Emeritus, Chennai Mathematical Institute, Plot H1, SIPCOT IT Park, Kelambakkam
City Siruseri
Pin Code 603103
Country India
Gender Male
Specialization Algebraic Geometry & Algebraic Groups
Service in the Council Member, 1987-1989
Qualification PhD (Chennai), DSc (hc)
Membership FASc, FTWAS, FRS
  Award The Srinivasa Ramanujan Medal, 1985
The Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Medal, 1995
  Year of Election 1973  
E-mail css@cmi.ac.in
Personal Website http://www.cmi.ac.in

Conjeevaram Srirangachari Seshadri did his PhD (1958) from University of Bombay specializing algebraic geometry and algebraic groups. He was Professor (1965), Senior Professor (1975-84) at the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai; Senior Professor, Institute of Mathematical Sciences, Chennai (1984-89); and Dean, School of Mathematics, SPIC Science Foundation, Chennai.

Academic and Research Achievements: Seshadri has contributed to the following fields: (i) moduli of vector bundles: (a) solution of Serre's problem on the affine plane, (b) construction of the Picard variety on any complete variety, (c) construction of the moduli spaces of vector bundles on a smooth projective curve of genus g?2; further (in collaboration with MS Narasimhan) their transcendental characterization by unitary representation of certain Fuchsian groups, (d) parabolic vector bundles on curves, (e) vector bundles on singular curves; (ii) proof of Mumford's conjecture, especially its proof for GL(2); and (iii) (in collaboration with Lakshimibai and Musili) standard monomial theory generalizing a classical work of Hodge.

Other Contributions: Seshadri was the Member, Editorial Board, Proceedings of the Indian Academy Science (Mathematical Science); advisory editor, Texts and Readings in Mathematics and Member, INSA Council (1987-89).

Awards and Honours: Seshadri is the recipient of SS Bhatnagar Prize (1972); Srinivasa Ramanujan Medal (INSA) (1985). He is a Fellow, the Royal Society, London, Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore, Maharashtra Academy of Sciences and the Academy of Sciences for the Developing World, Member, American Mathematical Society.

       History | Significant Landmark | Objectives | Committees | Local Chapters | Rules | Regulations | Current Fellows National | Current Fellows Foreign | Indian Fellows Elected | Foreign Fellows Elected | Council | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions
©Website design and developed by: INDIAN NATIONAL SCIENCE ACADEMY. Informatics Centre