Home   || Site Map ||    Contact Us

  Debendra Mohan Bose

Name Professor DM Bose
(Professor Debendra Mohan Bose)
  Gender M
Birth 1885
Specialization Nuclear Physics and Magnetic Properties
  Year of Election 1930  
  Demise 02-06-1975

Debendra Mohan Bose obtained his PhD (magna cum laude) (1919) from the University of Berlin, Germany; and DSc (hc) from the Universities of Calcutta and Jadavpur. His specialization was in nuclear physics, magnetic properties and plant physiology. He was Professor of Physics, City College, Kolkata (1913); Rashbehari Ghosh Professor of Physics (1914-35); Palit Professor of Physics (1935-38), University of Calcutta; and Director, Bose Institute, Kolkata (1938-67).

Academic and Research Achievements: Bose's chief contributions related to nuclear collisions and disintegration by means of Wilson cloud chamber and photographic emulsions. He initiated research in India in the fields of cosmic rays, artificial radioactivity and neutron physics; and in determination of the mass of mu-mesons by photographic emulsion method. He studied the properties of simple and complex compounds containing paramagnetic and rare earth ions; and origin of the colour of such paramagnetic ions in crystals. Bose discovered a new photomagnetic effect and also extended JC Bose's plant physiological investigations.

Other Contributions: Bose was deeply interested in history of science and was associated with INSA's History of Science Board. He co-edited the book A Concise History of Science in India (INSA, 1971). He also served as Editor of Science & Culture and Indian Journal of History Science. He was Vice-President of INSA (1953-56, 1960-61) and Life-Member of Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science (Member of Council, Vice-President).

Awards and Honours: Bose was a recipient of Deshikottamma of Visva Bharati and Meghnad Saha Medal of INSA (1965). He was a Member of Asiatic Society (twice President) and Indian Physical Society; Fellow of Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore; National Academy of Sciences (India), Allahabad; and Institute of Physics; President of Indian Science News Association; and Visva Bharati (Treasurer). He was President of Indian Science Congress Association (1953).

       History | Significant Landmark | Objectives | Committees | Local Chapters | Rules | Regulations | Current Fellows National | Current Fellows Foreign | Indian Fellows Elected | Foreign Fellows Elected | Council | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions
©Website design and developed by: INDIAN NATIONAL SCIENCE ACADEMY. Informatics Centre