Home   || Site Map ||    Contact Us

  Kumarapuram Vythilinga Krishnan

Name Professor KV Krishnan
(Professor Kumarapuram Vythilinga Krishnan)
  Gender M
Birth 1896
Specialization Microbiology
  Year of Election 1930  
  Demise 30-03-1978

KV Krishnan obtained his DSc degree (1931) from the John Hopkins University, USA. His specialization was in microbiology. He was Member, Commission of Assam; Professor, School of Tropical Medicine, Kolkata; Professor of Malariology and Rural Hygiene (1939-40); Professor of Microbiology (1940-52) and Director (1952-56), All India Institute of Hygiene and Public Health, Kolkata; and WHO Consultant for Preventive and Social Medicine, Kabul University, Afghanistan (1952-64).

Academic and Research Achievements: Krishnan devoted his life to medical research and teaching. His work covered sand fly as a vector for transmission of Kala-azar, immunity in malaria, standardization of antigens for flocculation test in syphilis, protein hydrolysate for intravenous administration in advanced cases of inanition involved in the Bengal famine during World War II, and scrup typhus infection. He did meritorious work in public health and hygiene.

Awards and Honours: Krishnan was a recipient of Alpha-Omega Gold Key of John Hopkins University; Minto Medal of School of Tropical Medicine; Barclay Medal of Asiatic Society; UN Brahmachari and Dutta Memorial Prizes of University of Calcutta; and Medal from King of Afghanistan (for meritorious work in the teaching of Preventive Medicine and Public Health in his country). He was conferred with Maharaja of Burdwan Lectureship, Brahmachari Lectureship, Dutta Memorial Lectureship and Dr Lakshmanaswamy Mudaliar Lectureship. He was a Fellow/Member, Alfa Omega Society (Baltimore, USA); Royal College of Physicians (Edinburgh); Royal Society of Edinburgh; Indian Medical Association; British Medical Association; and Indian Association of History of Medicine.

       History | Significant Landmark | Objectives | Committees | Local Chapters | Rules | Regulations | Current Fellows National | Current Fellows Foreign | Indian Fellows Elected | Foreign Fellows Elected | Council | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions
©Website design and developed by: INDIAN NATIONAL SCIENCE ACADEMY. Informatics Centre