Home   || Site Map ||    Contact Us

  Rabindra Nath Chaudhuri

Name Dr RN Chaudhuri
(Dr Rabindra Nath Chaudhuri)
  Gender M
Birth 1901
Specialization Tropical Medicine
  Year of Election 1950  
  Demise 06-08-1981

Rabindra Nath Chaudhuri took the degree of MB from the University of Calcutta before acquiring an MRCP from Edinburgh and TDD from Wales. He held house appointments in Kolkata, becoming Assistant Professor at the Calcutta School of Tropical Medicine in 1934. Thereon, he was appointed Professor (1945-66) and Director of the School (1950-66). He was Emeritus Medical Scientist at ICMR and Consultant of Inter-Regional Cholera Team for Southeast Asia, New Delhi. He was also Visiting Physician at Carmichael Hospital for Tropical Diseases in Kolkata.

Academic and Research Achievements: Chaudhuri made significant contributions to chemotherapy and chemoprophylaxis of malaria as well as the clinical and experimental studies on epidemic dropsy. He undertook seminal research on body fluid changes in health and diseases, viz. cholera; and recognition of 'para-sprue', a malnutritional syndrome common in India. He investigated 'Thinthinia' in 1936 and subsequently studied gastric acidity in Indians. His other studies related to eosinophil lung, amoeboma, pulmonary amoebiasis, and hypoprotinaemia.

Other Contributions: Rabindra Nath Chaudhuri was a member of the Asiatic Society and was the editor of the Indian Medical Gazette. He also edited Napier's Principles and Practice of Tropical Medicine. He served on the INSA Council from 1968 to 1970.

Awards and Honours: Chaudhuri received the Padma Bhushan in 1960. He was the recipient of ANB Prize bestowed by the Royal College of Physicians, Edinburgh in 1968 and the Dr Kamala Menon Medical Research Award of ICMR in 1977. He was a Fellow to the Royal Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene, London and its Vice-President from 1973-74. He was President of the Medical and Veterinary Section, Indian Science Congress, a member of the International Congress of Tropical Medicine and Malaria as also the Indian Medical Association, Indian Association of Pathologists and Microbiologists, and Indian Association for the Advancement of Medical Education.

       History | Significant Landmark | Objectives | Committees | Local Chapters | Rules | Regulations | Current Fellows National | Current Fellows Foreign | Indian Fellows Elected | Foreign Fellows Elected | Council | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions
©Website design and developed by: INDIAN NATIONAL SCIENCE ACADEMY. Informatics Centre