Home   || Site Map ||    Contact Us

  Bibhutibhusan Sen

Name Professor B Sen
(Professor Bibhutibhusan Sen)
  Gender M
Birth 1898-03-01
Specialization Elasticity
  Year of Election 1952  
  Demise 12-12-1976

Bibhutibhusan Sen obtained DSc from University of Calcutta. He was Lecturer in Mathematics, Education Service, Government of Bengal; Research Professor, Birla College of Engineering, Pilani; Professor and Head, Jadavpur University; Professor and Head, Department of Mathematics and Principal, Vidya Bhavan, Visva Bharati; and Emeritus Professor, Jadavpur University, Kolkata.

Academic and Research Achievements: Working in different areas of applied mathematics, Sen specialized in elasticity. He worked on elastodynamics, thermoelasticity, viscoelasticity, piezo-electricity, magnetoelasticity, plasticity, theoretical seismology and fluid mechanics. Sen authored two books: Special Functions and Laplace Transform; another titled Numerical Analysis was published posthumously.

Awards and Honours: Professor Sen was elected President of the Mathematics Section, Indian Science Congress (1952).

       History | Significant Landmark | Objectives | Committees | Local Chapters | Rules | Regulations | Current Fellows National | Current Fellows Foreign | Indian Fellows Elected | Foreign Fellows Elected | Council | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions
©Website design and developed by: INDIAN NATIONAL SCIENCE ACADEMY. Informatics Centre