Home   || Site Map ||    Contact Us

  Anant Gopal Jhingran

Name Professor AG Jhingran
(Professor Anant Gopal Jhingran)
  Gender M
Birth 1908
Specialization Geology
  Year of Election 1954  
  Demise 11-12-1977

Anant Gopal Jhingran obtained his PhD (1950) from the University of New castle-On-Tyne, UK. His specialization was in geology. He held the positions of Director-General, Geological Survey of India, Kolkata; Professor, Department of Geology, University of Delhi; and Director, Wadia Institute of Himalayan Geology, Dehra Dun.

Academic and Research Achievements: Jhingran contributed a great deal to Himalayan geology. He carried out systematic mapping of extensive areas in parts of Orissa and Madhya Pradesh and investigated several metallic and non-metallic deposits in the country as also in Bhutan and Nepal. He located additional resources of flux-grade limestone for steel industry. His work on Bundelkhand granite-gnesis is cited as an example of thoroughness and detail. Jhingran did a great deal to the cause of geology education and published scientific articles in Hindi as well.

Other Contributions: Jhingran served as Editor of Indian Minerals (Hindi), Transactions of Mining Geological Metallurgical Institute of India and Himalayan Geology. He was Member of INSA Council (1966-68).

Awards and Honours: Jhingran received Albert Seward Memorial Lecture Award of Birbal Sahni Institute of Palaeobotany (1967), AMN Ghosh Memorial Lecture Award of ONGC (1974) and DN Wadia Memorial Medal of INSA (1977) (awarded posthumously). He was a Fellow of Geological Society of London; National Academy of Sciences (India), Allahabad; Geochemical Society of India; Mining, Geological and Metallurgical Institute of India (President, 1964); Association of Bhuvigyan Parishad; Indian Geological Congress; Indian Association of Sedimentologists; and Wadia Institute of Himalayan Geology. He was Foreign Secretary (1969-72) of INSA; President, Geology and Geography Section of Indian Science Congress (1958).

       History | Significant Landmark | Objectives | Committees | Local Chapters | Rules | Regulations | Current Fellows National | Current Fellows Foreign | Indian Fellows Elected | Foreign Fellows Elected | Council | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions
©Website design and developed by: INDIAN NATIONAL SCIENCE ACADEMY. Informatics Centre