Home   || Site Map ||    Contact Us

  Venkatachalam Cadambe

Name Dr V Cadambe
(Dr Venkatachalam Cadambe)
  Gender M
Birth 1910
Specialization Mechanical and Aeronautical Engineering
  Year of Election 1956  
  Demise 24-02-1974

Venkatachalam Cadambe did his MSc (Hons) in Mathematics (1933) from the University of Mysore and MSc in Aeronautical Engg (1942) from California Institute of Technology, USA. His specialization was in mechanical and aeronautical engineering. He was Assistant Director, National Physical Laboratory, New Delhi (1948-58); Director, Central Mechanical Engineering Research Institute, Durgapur (1958-63); and Principal, UP State Polytechnic, Lucknow.

Academic and Research Achievements: Cadambe made contributions to elasticity, photo-elasticity, vibration and structural engineering. He was responsible for the design of several pilot plants and special types of instruments for the Bhakra Nangal Project. He rendered advice to small industries in India on various technical problems relating to production and quality control. While in the USA (1942-46), Cadambe was engaged in the design of aircraft in Hughes' Aircraft and Douglas Aircraft.

Other Contributions: Cadambe was responsible for the setting up of the Applied Mechanics Division of National Physical Laboratory, New Delhi. He rendered technical advice to Tata Aircraft Ltd. He was associated with several research committees and panels of CSIR, Indian Standards Institution (now Bureau of Indian Standards), Railway Board, Ministry of Irrigation and Power.

Awards and Honours: Cadambe was President, Engineering Section of Indian Science Congress (1962). He was Fellow / Associate of Royal Aeronautical Society (London); Institute of Aeronautical Sciences (USA); Institution of Metallurgists (London); Indian Institute of Meals and Institution of Engineers (India). He was Founder Member of Aeronautical Society of India.

       History | Significant Landmark | Objectives | Committees | Local Chapters | Rules | Regulations | Current Fellows National | Current Fellows Foreign | Indian Fellows Elected | Foreign Fellows Elected | Council | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions
©Website design and developed by: INDIAN NATIONAL SCIENCE ACADEMY. Informatics Centre