Home   || Site Map ||    Contact Us

  Janardhana Venkatesh Bhat

Name Professor JV Bhat
(Professor Janardhana Venkatesh Bhat)
  Gender M
Birth 1913
Specialization Microbiology and Biochemistry
  Year of Election 1958  
  Demise 21-12-1985

Janardhana Venkatesh Bhat obtained his DSc degree (1954) from the University of Bombay. His specialization was in microbiology and biochemistry. He was Professor, St. Xavier's College, Mumbai; Faculty, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore; and Director of Research, Medical College, Manipal.

Academic and Research Achievements: Bhat's contributions relate to marine yeasts; marine flora associated in coir retting; thiamine and riboflavine contents of saffron and other ayurvedic drugs; standardization of ayurvedic drugs; oxalate metabolism; lactate fermentation by bacteria; nitrogen status of soil in relation to microbial wealth; microbiology of khoa; fish and other foodstuffs; role of Pseudomonas in retting and of earthworms in agriculture.

Other Contributions: Bhat served as Member of Editorial Boards of: Indian Journal of Experimental Biology; Current Science; Journal of Indian Institute of Science; Journal of Indian Dairy Science and Journal of Health Science. He was Member of Scientific Advisory Committees of many CSIR and ICAR laboratories.

Awards and Honours: Bhat was recipient of Perkinje Medal of University of Veterinary Science, Brno, Czechoslovakia (1971-74); Rafi Ahmed Kidwai Memorial Prize (1972); and Watumull Foundation Distinguished Achievement Award (1982). He was a Fellow of Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore and Royal Institute of Chemistry (London); Emeritus Member of Society of Microbiology, USA; Member, Society of Biological Chemists (India); President, Association of Microbiologists of India and Association of Food Scientists and Technologists; and Secretary, Current Science Association (1967-73).

       History | Significant Landmark | Objectives | Committees | Local Chapters | Rules | Regulations | Current Fellows National | Current Fellows Foreign | Indian Fellows Elected | Foreign Fellows Elected | Council | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions
©Website design and developed by: INDIAN NATIONAL SCIENCE ACADEMY. Informatics Centre