Home   || Site Map ||    Contact Us

  Ajit Kumar Saha

Name Professor AK Saha
(Professor Ajit Kumar Saha)
  Gender M
Birth 31-08-1922
Specialization Nuclear Physics
  Year of Election 1959  
  Demise 01-03-1991

Ajit Kumar Saha did his DSc (1946) from University of Calcutta. He worked as Senior Professor, Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics, Kolkata; and also Director, Bose Institute, Kolkata.

Academic and Research Achievements: Professor Saha had deep interest in archaeology, ancient and medieval history, history of science, technology and chronology. He initiated research on nuclear spectroscopy in India and laid the foundation of the Theoretical Nuclear Physics Division at Saha Institute. He constructed a magnetic lens spectrometer for ?-ray spectroscopy, the first NMR spectrometer, spin-echo spectrometer, the first NQR spectrometer as well as a goniometer as an adjunct to it. He also built up research groups at the Institute on microwave spectroscopy, ESR and solid state physics, both experimental and theoretical. He co-authored a book entitled Theory and Applications of Nuclear Induction.

Other Contributions: Saha built up the Crystallographic and Molecular Physics Division and the Regional Scientific Instrument Centre at the Institute. Also standing to his credit is the post-MSc course in Nuclear Physics, Solid-state Physics and Bio-physics at the Institute. He also served as Council Member of the Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science (IACS).

Awards and Honours: Professor Saha won the 1851 Exhibition Scholar Award and Mouat Medal by the University of Calcutta (1950). He was elected Fellow of the National Academy of Sciences (India), Allahabad; and General President, Indian Science Congress Association (1980).

       History | Significant Landmark | Objectives | Committees | Local Chapters | Rules | Regulations | Current Fellows National | Current Fellows Foreign | Indian Fellows Elected | Foreign Fellows Elected | Council | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions
©Website design and developed by: INDIAN NATIONAL SCIENCE ACADEMY. Informatics Centre