Home   || Site Map ||    Contact Us

  Baradananda Chatterjee

Name Professor B Chatterjee
(Professor Baradananda Chatterjee)
  Gender M
Birth 1912
Specialization Electrochemistry; Colloid Science; Soil Science
  Year of Election 1960  
  Demise 09-12-1967

Baradananda Chatterjjee obtained his DSc degree (1936) from the University of Calcutta. His areas of specialization were electrochemistry, colloid science and soil science. He was Professor and Head, Department of Chemistry as well as of Metallurgy and Geology (1956-64) and Vice-Principal (1964) of Bengal Engineering College, Kolkata.

Academic and Research Achievements: Chatterjee did extensive work on chemical properties and other characteristics of silicic acid sols. He explained the interaction of bases and salts with JN Mukherjee's postulate of electrical double layer associated with the colloidal particle. He devised a simple method for soil analysis based on the dispersive ability of sodium ferrocyanide and soil clays. His most extensive work was on clays and clay minerals. He investigated the colloidal properties of soil organic matter and established the existence of lyotrope series in the interaction of colloidal humus with salts and bases. Also he worked on corrosion of metals and alloys by soil and its remedy, catalytic decomposition of carbon monoxide in the presence of metals and decarburization and dephosphorization of cast iron alloys by gaseous hydrogen.

Other Contributions: Chattrjee played a key role in building up the Calcutta School of Soil Colloids. He was a Member of Indian Chemical Society and Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science.

Awards and Honours: Chatterjee was recipient of JM Das Gupta Memorial Gold Medal of Indian Chemical Society. He was a Fellow of Indian Institute of Metals; International Society of Soil Science; and Society of Sigma Xi (USA).

       History | Significant Landmark | Objectives | Committees | Local Chapters | Rules | Regulations | Current Fellows National | Current Fellows Foreign | Indian Fellows Elected | Foreign Fellows Elected | Council | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions
©Website design and developed by: INDIAN NATIONAL SCIENCE ACADEMY. Informatics Centre