Home   || Site Map ||    Contact Us

  Ratan Shankar Mishra

Name Professor RS Mishra
(Professor Ratan Shankar Mishra)
  Gender M
Birth 1918
Specialization Differential Geometry; Relativity; Fluid Mechanics
  Year of Election 1960  
  Demise 23-08-1999

Ratan Shanker Mishra obtained his DSc (1952) from University of Lucknow specializing in differential geometry, relativity and fluid mechanics. He served as the Visiting Professor, University of Kuwait (1970, 1980-81, 1986), University of Windsor, Canada (1974) and University of Waterloo, Canada (1967, 1972); Lecturer, Ramjas College, Delhi College, Delhi and Lucknow University (1944-54); Reader, Department of Mathematics, University of Delhi (1954-58); Professor and Head, Department of Mathematics, University of Gorakhpur (1958-63); Professor and Head, Department of Mathematics (1963-68), University of Allahabad; and Professor and Head, Department of Mathematics (1968-78) and Dean, Faculty of Science (1972-75), Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi.

Academic and Research Achievements: A specialist in differential geometry, relativity and fluid mechanics, Mishra gave complete solutions of Einstein’s Unified Field Theory. In differential geometry, he has developed his own notation and has contributed a great deal on index-free notation.

Other Contributions: Member, Board of Director, United States Education Foundation in India and Nominating Committee of International Committee General Relativity and Gravitation. He authored Structures on a Differentiable Manifold and their Applications and Almost Contact Metri Manifolds; editor-in-chief, Progress in Mathematics; member, editorial board of Indian Journal of Pure and Applied Mathematics and Tensor. Mishra was a Member, INSA Council (1968-70).

Awards and Honours: Mishra was the Fellow, Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore, National Academy of Sciences (India), Allahabad. He also served as President, Indian Science Congress (1973-74).

       History | Significant Landmark | Objectives | Committees | Local Chapters | Rules | Regulations | Current Fellows National | Current Fellows Foreign | Indian Fellows Elected | Foreign Fellows Elected | Council | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions
©Website design and developed by: INDIAN NATIONAL SCIENCE ACADEMY. Informatics Centre