Home   || Site Map ||    Contact Us

  Srinivasa Rangaswami

Name Professor S Rangaswami
(Professor Srinivasa Rangaswami)
  Gender M
Birth 15-06-1912
Specialization "Natural Products Chemistry, "
  Year of Election 1961  
  Demise 24-11-2000

Srinivasa Rangaswami did his PhD (1938) from Andhra University, Waltair; and DPhil (1948) from University of Basel, Switzerland. He served as Professor of Pharmaceutical Chemistry, Andhra University, Waltair; Professor of Organic Chemistry, University of Delhi, Delhi; and Adviser to General Manager (R&D), IDL Chemicals, Hyderabad.

Academic and Research Achievements: Working in the area: natural products chemistry, Rangaswami discovered Peruvoside, a potent cardiotonic drug. He initiated work on chemistry of wood-rotting fungi and complicated structure of saponins in India. He elucidated the structure of several novel steroidal and triterpenoidal substances. He coauthored the books Peruvoside and other Cardiotonic Glycosides of Thevetia neeriifolia and Chemistry of Vitamins and Hormones.

Other Contributions: Professor Rangaswami served as Chairman, Advisory Committee on Indigenous Drugs, ICMR; Member, Pharmacy Council of India, Drug Technical Advisory Board, Indian Pharmacopoeia Committee, and Ayurveda, Siddha and Homeopathic Pharmacopoeia Committee; and Secretary, National Committee for Chemistry. He was on the Editorial Board of Journal of Pure & Applied Chemistry. He also coedited Advancing Frontiers in the Chemistry of Natural Products and Some Recent Developments in the Chemistry of Natural Products.

Awards and Honours: Professor Rangaswami was conferred Silver Jubilee Commemoration Medal by INSA (1970) and Sir PC Ray Memorial Lectureship by Indian Chemical Society (1973). He was elected Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore, Indian Chemical Society, Royal Society of Chemistry; President, Indian Pharmaceutical Association; and Treasurer, INSA (1969-72).

       History | Significant Landmark | Objectives | Committees | Local Chapters | Rules | Regulations | Current Fellows National | Current Fellows Foreign | Indian Fellows Elected | Foreign Fellows Elected | Council | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions
©Website design and developed by: INDIAN NATIONAL SCIENCE ACADEMY. Informatics Centre