Home   || Site Map ||    Contact Us

  Ganpati Parshad Sharma

Name Professor GP Sharma
(Professor Ganpati Parshad Sharma)
  Gender M
Birth 11-12-1917
Specialization Cytoplasm; Mitochondria; Golgi Elements
  Year of Election 1962  
  Demise 17-02-2007

Ganpati Parshad Sharma did his PhD (1945) from Panjab University, Lahore, and another PhD (1947) from University of Edinburgh, UK. He was Professor and Head (1959-77), and also CSIR Emeritus Scientist, Department of Zoology; Dean, University Instruction (1967-69); Senate Fellow, (1964-72 and 1975-84); Syndicate Member (1964-72, 1976-81); and Dean, Faculty of Science and Mathematics (1973-75, 1982), all at Panjab University, Chandigarh.

Academic and Research Achievements: Sharma carried out studies to elucidate the role of cytoplasmic inclusions like the mitochondria and golgi elements in the formation of gametes in various invertebrates and vertebrates. Later on, however, he had made extensive studies on the chromosomes and their role in speciation in almost all phyla of animal kingdom, right from protozoa up to highly evolved mammals including human beings. This piece of research is considered highly significant. He also studied the effects of environmental chemicals on the genome of invertebrates (mosquito) and vertebrates (rat and man).

Other Contributions: Sharma served as Member of the INSA Council (1977-79).

Awards and Honours: Professor Sharma was conferred the UGC National Lecturer Award (1979-80). He was elected Fellow of the National Academy of Sciences (India), Allahabad, Academy of Zoology at Agra, Indian Academy of Zoology at Lucknow, Zoological Society of India, Zoological Society, London, Royal Microscopical Society, London and Society of Cytologists and Geneticists, Bangalore.

       History | Significant Landmark | Objectives | Committees | Local Chapters | Rules | Regulations | Current Fellows National | Current Fellows Foreign | Indian Fellows Elected | Foreign Fellows Elected | Council | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions
©Website design and developed by: INDIAN NATIONAL SCIENCE ACADEMY. Informatics Centre