Home   || Site Map ||    Contact Us

  Krishna Saran Mathur

Name Professor KS Mathur
(Professor Krishna Saran Mathur)
  Gender M
Birth 1912
Specialization Cardiology
  Year of Election 1963  
  Demise 03-11-2000

Krishan Saran Mathur did his MBBS (1936) and MD (1947) from University of Lucknow his specializing in cardiology. He served as the Professor and Head, Department of Medicine, SN Medical College, Agra (1957-72); Dean, Faculty of Medicine, Agra University and Director, Heart Foundation.

Academic and Research Achievements: A pioneer in experimental cardiology, Mathur established a center for training in specially developed techniques for experimental hypercholesterolemia, atherosclerosis and myocardial infarction. He carried out a series of studies on epidemiological, biochemical, morphological and experimental facets of arteriosclerosis and coronary heart diseases. These led to dietary manipulation on human volunteers on a long-term basis. He and coworkers discovered the role of Bengal gram as a hypocholesterolemic agent. They also did work on epidemiological, clinical and immunological aspects based on experimental studies of rheumatic fever and kidney diseases.

Other Contributions: Mathur was the Member, World Congress on Coronary Heart Disease/ International Services on Atherosclerosis; Member, Inter-University Board of India and Ceylon in medicine; Adviser to WHO on Medical Education: Member, Governing body, ICMR (1960-63). He organized and conducted Khula Manch ‘Panel Discussions’ and lectures under the auspices of Association of Physicians of India and Rotary Club for the benefit of public education.

Awards and Honours: Mathur received the Watumull Memorial Award (1966), George Coelho Award (1967), Chaturvedi Kalawati Jagmohan Das Memorial Award (1975) and Oration (1976) (ICMR), BC Roy National Award (1979), Dr Jal Rustom Vakil Memorial Award (1982), Subha Rao Memorial Oration (1968) (National Academy of Medical Sciences India), D Ghosh Oration (IMA, UP) (1988); Jal Vakil Memorial Oration (Bombay Medical Union) (1972), Amalanand Das Memorial Oration (Cardiovascular Society of India) (1974), Uma Rani Banerjee Memorial Oration (Cardiological Society of India) (1975), Sarabhai Oration (Association of Physicians of India) (1976), Lajwanti Madan Oration (IMA, Meerut) (1980). The Banaras Hindu University awarded him the DSc (hc) in 1991. He served as President, Indian Medical Association (Uttar Pradesh) (1966-67); President, Cardiological Society of India (1959-60); President, Association of Physicians of India (1972-73); Fellow, Royal College of Physicians. (Edinburgh); Founder Fellow, National Academy of Medical Sciences (India) and National College of Chest Physicians; Emeritus Fellow, American College of Cardiology, International College of Angiology.

       History | Significant Landmark | Objectives | Committees | Local Chapters | Rules | Regulations | Current Fellows National | Current Fellows Foreign | Indian Fellows Elected | Foreign Fellows Elected | Council | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions
©Website design and developed by: INDIAN NATIONAL SCIENCE ACADEMY. Informatics Centre