Home   || Site Map ||    Contact Us

  Syama Prasad Raychaudhuri

Name Professor SP Raychaudhuri
(Professor Syama Prasad Raychaudhuri)
  Gender M
Birth 31-12-1915
Specialization Citus Dieback; Mango Malformation; Sandal Spike; Cereal Viruses; Market Pathology
  Year of Election 1966  
  Demise 09-08-2005

Syama Prasad Raychaudhuri received PhD (1949) from University of Calcutta. He was Professor of Mycology and Plant Pathology, and Head, Division of Mycology and Plant Pathology, Indian Agricultural Research Institute (IARI), New Delhi; Advisor, Haryana Agricultural University, Hissar; Distinguished Professor in universities of Japan and Canada; Richard Merton Professor in Germany (twice); and Visiting Professor at Rutgers University, USA.

Academic and Research Achievements: Raychaudhuri worked on citus dieback, mango malformation, sandal spike, cereal viruses, market pathology and storage diseases. His basic researches related to plant viruses and mycoplasmas, tissue culture, deficiency diseases, non-wood forest products, medicinal and aromatic plants. He worked out in detail the complex nature of citrus dieback disease, cause of mango malformation, control of sandal spike, as well as storage diseases and deficiency disease of guava in Rajasthan.

Other Contributions: Professor Raychaudhuri created a strong school of Plant Pathology in IARI, New Delhi. He authored/edited 25 books, served as Editor of Indian Phytopathology; International Journal of Tropical Plant Diseases, Rev Trop Plant Pathol; and was member of advisory boards of: Plant Diseases (Academic Press) and Plant Protection (UK). He also served as Corresponding Member, IUFRO; Executive Committee Member, International Society of Citriculture; and Vice President, International Association for Study of Forest Medicinal Plants.

Awards and Honours: Professor Raychaudhuri was conferred many prizes, notably Rafi Ahmed Kidwai Memorial Prize (1966-67); International Union of Forestry Research Organizations Distinguished Services Award (1990); International Organization of Citrus Virologists Award (1992); and Shyam Bahadur Saksena Memorial Award by INSA (1993). He was elected Fellow of the National Academy of Sciences (India), Allahabad; American Phytopathological Society; Indian Phytopathological Society; Indian Virological Society; Indian Mycological Society; and Indian Society of Mycology and Plant Pathology.

       History | Significant Landmark | Objectives | Committees | Local Chapters | Rules | Regulations | Current Fellows National | Current Fellows Foreign | Indian Fellows Elected | Foreign Fellows Elected | Council | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions
©Website design and developed by: INDIAN NATIONAL SCIENCE ACADEMY. Informatics Centre