Home   || Site Map ||    Contact Us

  Bisheshwar Dayal

Name Professor B Dayal
(Professor Bisheshwar Dayal)
  Gender M
Birth 1908
Specialization Solid State Physics
  Year of Election 1967  
  Demise 28-10-1981

Specializing in Solid State Physics, Bisheshwar Dayal took his DSc in 1945 from Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi. He was Professor (1962-71), Head (1965-71), Department of Physics and Emeritus Professor (1971-81) at Meerut University.

Academic and Research Achievements: Dayal was an internationally recognized solid state physicist, who contributed extensively to lattice dynamics. He carried out theoretical computation of vibrational spectra, elastic constants, specific heats, thermal expansion and equation of state of solids. His experimental investigations were on diffuse X-ray scattering, determination of crystal structure and measurements of thermal expansion.

Awards and Honours: Professor Dayal won the first Watumull Award in Physics (1962). He received an Honorary Fellowship of the Institute of Physics (London) and was elected to the National Academy of Sciences (India), Allahabad.

       History | Significant Landmark | Objectives | Committees | Local Chapters | Rules | Regulations | Current Fellows National | Current Fellows Foreign | Indian Fellows Elected | Foreign Fellows Elected | Council | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions
©Website design and developed by: INDIAN NATIONAL SCIENCE ACADEMY. Informatics Centre