Home   || Site Map ||    Contact Us

  Malur Ramaswamy-Iyengar Narasimha  Prasad

Name Professor MRIN Prasad
(Professor Malur Ramaswamy-Iyengar Narasimha Prasad)
  Gender M
Birth 05-01-1923
Specialization Zoology
  Year of Election 1970  
  Demise 10-07-1987

Malur Ramaswamy-Iyengar Narasimha Prasad completed PhD from the universities of Mysore and Wisconsin, USA. He worked as Lecturer in Zoology, Central College, Bangalore; Professor of Zoology, University of Delhi (till 1977); and Scientist, Special Programme in Human Reproduction, WHO, Geneva (till 1983). He was also Chairman, Biology Research Division, Central Family Planning Institute, Delhi.

Academic and Research Achievements: Prasad’s contributions range over a wide field in physiology of reproduction: (i) hormonal control of implantation (2) reproductive biology of rodents (3) pituitary gonadotrophins in several mammals (4) reproductive physiology in lizards (5) foetal membrane physiology (6) physiology of the saccus vasculosus in fishes. His researches in epidymal physiology and male reproduction led to the discovery of a method of regulation of male fertility. Multicentred clinical trials were carried out by the World Health Organization based on this finding. He also worked on the mechanism of astrogen- antiastrogen interaction and comparative endocrinology.

Other Contributions: Prasad served as Member of the International Planned Parenthood Federation, International Society of Andrology and Society for the Study of Fertility; and also editor, INSA publications (1971-74).

Awards and Honours: Professor Prasad was conferred the FICCI Award (1972); Jagdis Chandra Bose Award (1976); and Dr Shantha Rao Memorial Oration (1983). He was elected Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore, Vice-President, International Society for Research in Biology of Reproduction; and Vice-President, INSA (1975-76).

The Indian National Science Academy has instituted the ‘Professor M R N Prasad Memorial Lecture Award’ in his honour.

       History | Significant Landmark | Objectives | Committees | Local Chapters | Rules | Regulations | Current Fellows National | Current Fellows Foreign | Indian Fellows Elected | Foreign Fellows Elected | Council | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions
©Website design and developed by: INDIAN NATIONAL SCIENCE ACADEMY. Informatics Centre