Home   || Site Map ||    Contact Us

  Sivaraj Ramaseshan

Name Professor S Ramaseshan
(Professor Sivaraj Ramaseshan)
  Gender M
Birth 10-10-1923
Specialization X-Ray Crystallography; Anomalous Scattering of X-rays and Neutrons; High-Pressure Physics
  Year of Election 1972  
  Demise 29-12-2003

Sivaraj Ramaseshan obtained DSc (1951) from Nagpur University. He worked as Faculty Member (1945-62), Head (1962-66), Department of Physics, Indian Institute of Sciences (IISc), Bangalore; Scientist F and Scientist (Director’s Grade), National Aerospace Laboratory, Bangalore (1966-79); Director, IISc, Bangalore (1980-84); and Distinguished Professor-Emeritus, Raman Research Institute, Bangalore (1984- ). Academic and Research Achievements: Professor Ramaseshan contributed mainly to optics: X-ray crystallography, anomalous scattering of X-rays and neutrons, and high-pressure physics (fundamental research), and to materials science: fibre-reinforced composites, electrocomposites, and novel methods of fabrication. He co-authored the book Anomalous Scattering (Munsgard, 1976); a chapter on Crystal Optics in Handbuch der Physik (Springer-Verlag, 1961) and several chapters to “Progress in ….” Series reference works. Other Contributions: Ramaseshan established one of leading interdisciplinary centers in materials research at NAL. He was Editor of the journals Pramana, Proceedings of the Indian Academy of Sciences>/i> and Current Science. He was Member of the INSA Council (1974-76); COSPAR Interdisciplinary Scientific Commission on Materials Science in Space; Karnataka State Council for Science and Technology; and several other policy-making bodies. Awards and Honours: Ramaseshan was conferred numerous awards, notably the SS Bhatnagar Prize (1966); Jawaharlal Nehru Fellow (1977-79); VASVIK Award (1980); Aryabhatta Medal by INSA (1985); Padma Bhushan; and UGC National Lecturer. He was elected Vice President of the International Union for Crystallography (1981-84). He was Chairman, Materials and Processes Panel of Aeronautics Research & Development Board; and Chief Coordinator, Commonwealth Aeronautical Advisory Research Council. He was elected Fellow (Vice President, 1971-80; President 1981-84) of the Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore.

       History | Significant Landmark | Objectives | Committees | Local Chapters | Rules | Regulations | Current Fellows National | Current Fellows Foreign | Indian Fellows Elected | Foreign Fellows Elected | Council | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions
©Website design and developed by: INDIAN NATIONAL SCIENCE ACADEMY. Informatics Centre