Home   || Site Map ||    Contact Us

  Bangalore Puttaiya Radhakrishna

Name Dr BP Radhakrishna
(Dr Bangalore Puttaiya Radhakrishna)
  Gender M
Birth 30-04-1918
Specialization Closepet Granite; Crystalline Rocks
  Year of Election 1973  
  Demise 04-07-1905

Bangalore Puttaiah Radhakrishna graduated in 1937 with First Class Hons in Geology from the Central College, Bangalore, and PhD (1954) from the Mysore University for studies on closepet granite and other rocks of the crystalline complex. He was also awarded DSc (hc) by Indian School of Mines, Dhanbad (1992). He worked for nearly 37 years in the Mysore Geological Department as Geologist, the last 10 years of his service as its Director. He was engaged in geological and mineral surveys in different parts of Karnataka (1937-53).

Academic and Research Achievements: Radhakrishna carried out studies to elucidate the complex geological history of the billion-year-old crystalline rocks of Karnataka and development of its mineral resources. His other main interests were in the development of groundwater resources and to demonstrate their importance to provide unpolluted water. The importance of reviving gold mining industry on a large scale was emphasized in his several publications. He published over 200 research papers and edited several memoirs dealing with different aspects of the geology and mineral resources of India. He founded the Geological Society of India and provided through it a common platform for meetings and exchange of information on geology for 20 years.

Other Contributions: Dr Radhakrishna organized the Board of Mineral Development for the development of mineral resources of Karnataka.

Awards and Honours: Radhakrishna received many awards, notably the National Mineral Award of the Government of India (1971), Rajyotsava Award by Government of Karnataka (1976), Padmashri (1991), DN Wadia Medal of INSA (1992), Sir M Visveswaraya Award for Senior Scientist of Karnataka Science Academy (1996), National Mineral Award of Excellence of Government of India (2002), and Jawaharlal Nehru Birth Centenary Award (2007). He was elected Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore (1956) and is Honorary Fellow of Geological Society of London (1986) and Geological Society of America (1990).

       History | Significant Landmark | Objectives | Committees | Local Chapters | Rules | Regulations | Current Fellows National | Current Fellows Foreign | Indian Fellows Elected | Foreign Fellows Elected | Council | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions
©Website design and developed by: INDIAN NATIONAL SCIENCE ACADEMY. Informatics Centre