Home   || Site Map ||    Contact Us

  Kamal Jaysing Ranadive

Name Dr KJ Ranadive
(Dr Kamal Jaysing Ranadive)
  Gender F
Birth 08-11-1917
Specialization Experimental Biology; Cell Biology (Cancer research; Leprosy research)
  Year of Election 1977  
  Demise 2001-00-00

Kamal Jaysing Ranadive did her PhD (1950) from University of Bombay. She worked as Head, Department of Experimental Biology (1952-62); Acting Director, Indian Cancer Research Centre, Mumbai (1962-66); Head, Biology Division, Cancer Research Institute, Tata Memorial Centre (1966-77); and later Emeritus Medical Scientist, ICMR.

Academic and Research Achievements: Working in the areas: experimental biology, and cell biology (cancer research, leprosy research), Ranadive carried out experimental studies on etiology and mechanism of carcinogenesis at cell and systematic levels; breast cancer, oral cancer, and experimental carcinogens specific to India; tissue, cell and organ cultures of mouse tumours, human tumours and embryonic cell establishment of cell lines in vitro and transplantable tumours in vitro; and human leprosy, isolation and cultivation of ‘ICRC bacillus’ from lepromatous leprosy.

Other Contributions: Dr Ranadive was engaged in medico social work, especially tribal welfare with reference to nutrition, lifestyle and cancer. She served on IMCR’s Scientific Advisory Board, Expert Committee on Cellular and Molecular Biology, Consultative Committee for Coordination of Cancer Research in India; and Committees of International Union against Cancer. She was member of the INSA Council (1985-87), American Tissue Culture Association, Japanese Tissue Culture Association, British Cancer Research Association and International Society of Cell Biology; and also Core Founder Member, Indian Women Scientists Association (President, 1977-79). She served on Editorial boards of Indian Journal of Cancer, Indian Journal of Experimental Biology, International Journal of Cancer, Indian Journal of Medical Research and Yearbook Cancer.

Awards and Honours: Dr Ranadive won many awards, notably Basanti Devi Amirchand Award (1958); GJ Watumull Memorial International Award (1964); First Silver Jubilee Research Award by Medical Council of India (1964); Sandoz Oration Award (1976); Distinguished Woman Award by Banaras Hindu University Mahila Mahavidyalaya (1982); Silver Jubilee Gold Medal by Medical Council of India; Sandoz Gold Medal; and Padma Bhushan (1982). She was also elected Founder Fellow of Maharashtra Academy of Sciences.

       History | Significant Landmark | Objectives | Committees | Local Chapters | Rules | Regulations | Current Fellows National | Current Fellows Foreign | Indian Fellows Elected | Foreign Fellows Elected | Council | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions
©Website design and developed by: INDIAN NATIONAL SCIENCE ACADEMY. Informatics Centre