Home   || Site Map ||    Contact Us

  Anil Bhushan Biswas

Name Professor AB Biswas
(Professor Anil Bhushan Biswas)
  Gender M
Birth 1917
Specialization Catalysis; Solid-State Chemistry and Structural Chemistry
  Year of Election 1978  
  Demise 23-10-1979

Anil Bhushan Biswas obtained his PhD degree (1944) from University of Dacca, now in Bangladesh. His specialization was in Catalysis, Solid-State Chemistry and Structural Chemistry. He was a Research Fellow (1948-50), California Institute of Technology, USA; Senior Scientific Officer and Assistant Director (1953-67), National Chemical Laboratory, Pune; and Senior Professor and Head (1969-79), Department of Chemistry, Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay.

Academic and Research Achievements: Biswas's research spanned over determination of crystal and molecular structure by X-ray and neutron diffraction, surface science and catalysis; monolayer properties of long chain compounds on water surface; chemistry and physics of semiconductors, magnetic and ferroelectric materials and photo and radiation polymerization. Pioneering research on monomolecular film properties on water surface, Biswas developed superior-quality water evaporation retardants. These have been found to minimize the loss of water stored in lakes and reservoirs by evaporation much effectively than the conventionally used cetyl and stearyl alcohols. He was a pioneer in building up a strong School and Materials Science in Bombay with his research contributions to the chemistry and physics of the solid state.

Other Contributions: Professor Biswas was keenly interested in the introduction of innovations in teaching techniques and in the improvement of research training; the report of a committee under his convenorship on the status of PhD research in the country reflects vividly the maladies in the system and effective steps to remove the same. He was Honorary Editor of the Journal of Indian Chemical Society for 1972-75.

Awards and Honours: Dr Biswas was a Fellow of Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore and Indian Chemical Society. He was President, Chemistry Section of Indian Science Congress (1979).

       History | Significant Landmark | Objectives | Committees | Local Chapters | Rules | Regulations | Current Fellows National | Current Fellows Foreign | Indian Fellows Elected | Foreign Fellows Elected | Council | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions
©Website design and developed by: INDIAN NATIONAL SCIENCE ACADEMY. Informatics Centre