Home   || Site Map ||    Contact Us

  AN Radhakrishnan

Name Professor AN Radhakrishnan
(Professor AN Radhakrishnan)
  Gender M
Birth 17-05-1927
Specialization Amino Acid Metabolism; Biosynthesis of Branched-Chain Amino Acids.
  Year of Election 1978  
  Demise 17-06-1990

AN Radhakrishnan obtained PhD (1956) from University of Bombay. He was Head, Biochemistry, Wellcome Research Unit, Christian Medical College Hospital, Vellore (1962-77); and Dean (1977-80) and Professor (1981), School of Life Sciences, University of Hyderabad. Academic and Research Achievements: Professor Radhakrishnan made very significant contributions in unravelling amino acid metabolism, particularly the biosynthesis of branched-chain amino acids. His studies on intestinal transport with particular reference to amino acids, carbohydrates and vitamin B12 , as well as unusual amino acids and peptides from plants, received high peer recognition. He isolated and characterized amino compounds from Santalum album Linn., which include allohydroxy-L-proline, cis-4-hydroxy-L-proline and others. In biomedical research, his investigations covered: lactase deficiency in India, amino acid metabolism in kwashiorkor, leprosy, malabsorption syndrome, mechanisms of enzyme action, genetic metabolic errors and intestinal transport.

Other Contributions: Radhakrishnan addressed the problem of improving the quality and content of teaching biochemical sciences in universities. He was Member of the Biochemical Society, London and New York Academy of Sciences. He served on Editorial Board of Indian Journal of Biochemistry & Biophysics.

Awards and Honours: Professor Radhakrishnan received numerous awards, notably the first Sreenivasaya Memorial Award and Oration by Society of Biological Chemists, India (1972); Hari Om Ashram Alembic Research Award (1977); Honour and Scroll for outstanding contributions by Society of Biological Chemists, India (1980); Golden Jubilee Lecture Oration by Society of Biological Chemists, India (1980); BC Guha Memorial Lecture Award by INSA (1981); and JC Bose Award by UGC (1981). He was also elected Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore; and Society of Biological Chemists, India (President, 1973-74).

       History | Significant Landmark | Objectives | Committees | Local Chapters | Rules | Regulations | Current Fellows National | Current Fellows Foreign | Indian Fellows Elected | Foreign Fellows Elected | Council | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions
©Website design and developed by: INDIAN NATIONAL SCIENCE ACADEMY. Informatics Centre