Home   || Site Map ||    Contact Us

  Prakash Narain Tandon

Edit Your Details  
Click Here !!

Name Professor PN Tandon
(Professor Prakash Narain Tandon)
FNA ID N79-0826
Address 1, Jagriti Enclave, Vikas Marg Ext.,
City Delhi
Pin Code 110092
Country India
Gender Male
Specialization Neurosurgery
Service in the Council Sec, 1981-1984
VP, 1989-1990
President, 1991-1992
Qualification MS, FRCS, DSc (hc)
Membership FNASc, FASc, FTWAS, Mem, Norsk Videnscap Acad
  Award Shree Dhanwantari Prize, 1986
The Chandrasekhara Venkata Raman Medal, 1997
INSA Medal for Promotion & Service to Science, 2011
  Year of Election 1979  
E-mail tandon@nbrc.ac.in
Personal Website

Prakash Narain Tandon received MBBS (1950) from KG Medical College (now University) (KGMU), Lucknow and was awarded Hewitt Gold Medal for standing first. He obtained MS (1952) from Lucknow University and FRCS (England) (1956). He was conferred DSc (hc) by BHU (1998) and KGMU (2006). He received advance training in 'neurosurgery and allied neurosciences' from the Ulleval Hospital, Oslo University, Norway (1957-58) and Montreal Neurological Institute, McGill University, Canada (1959-60). Thereafter, he started the first Neurosurgical Service at his Alma Mater (1961), appointed Professor (1963) and in 1965 founded the Department of Neurosurgery at the All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS), New Delhi which grew into a premier neurosciences centre under his leadership.

Academic and Research Achievements: Tandon is an outstanding medical expert who combined excellent professional competence as Neurosurgeon with internationally acclaimed scientific research and played a critical role in comprehensive development of neurosciences in India. He catalyzed the establishment of National Brain Research Centre (NBRC) at Manesar under the aegis of Department of Biotechnology, and became its founder President. His major research efforts dealing primarily with neurological disorders of the nervous system, included developmental defects, head injury, subarachnoid hemorrhage, and experimental foetal neural transplant. He has authored 250 papers, over a dozen monographs and many chapters in various text books. He trained more than 50 neurosurgeons.

Other Contributions: Tandon served as Member of the Governing bodies of CSIR, ICMR, UGC, Indian Council of Social Science Research (ICSSR) and Indo-US S&T Forum. He was Member, Norwegian Academy of Sciences (1987), American Association of Advancement of Science (2002), Indian Institute of Advanced Study, Shimla (Honorary Life Member), Society of Neurological Surgeons, USA (1987) (Honorary Member), Royal Society of Medicine, London (1992) (Foreign Member) and Science Advisory committees of some CSIR Labs (Chairman). He was Founder Co-chairman of the Inter Academy Panel (IAP), Member, ICSU Review Committee. He co-edited the Text Book of Neurosurgery and acted as Consulting Editor of the Text Book: Operative Neurosurgery. He was a Member, Science Advisory Council to the Prime Minister (1986-89).

Awards and Honours: Tandon was conferred numerous awards, notably: Padma Sri (1973), Honorary Surgeon to the President of India (1977-80), BC Roy Award for Developing a Speciality (1980), MN Sen Oration by ICMR (1980), UGC National Lecturer (1982), FICCI Award for Life Sciences (1983), Jawaharlal Nehru Fellowship (1984-85), Dhanwantari Prize by INSA (1986), Outstanding Alumnus Award by KG Medical College, Lucknow (1987), OP Bhasin Award for Medical and Health Sciences (1988), Padma Bhusan (1989), SS Bhatnagar Fellowship (1990-95), Basanti Devi Amir Chand Prize by ICMR (1991), BC Roy Award for Eminent Medical Scientist by MCI (1993), Sir CV Raman Medal (1997), GM Modi Award for Innovative Science (1998), INDO-ASEAN Eminent Persons Lecturer (1999), MN Shah Distinguished Fellow (2000-05), Firodia Award for Excellence in Science & Technology (2003), New Millennium Plaque of Honour in Medicine and Physiology (Indian Science Congress: 2002-03), Professor Bachhawat Lifetime Achievement Award by Indian Academy of Neuroscience (2003), NASI President's Gold Medal (2006), and Padma Vibhusan (2006). He was elected President of Neurology Society of India, National Academy of Sciences (India), Allahabad, and Indian Academy of Neurosciences. He was also elected Fellow of the National Academy of Medical Sciences (Council Member and Vice-President), National Academy of Sciences (India), Allahabad, Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore, the Academy of Sciences for the Developing World (TWAS) and the Royal Society of Medicine. He was Secretary (1981-84), Vice-President (1989-90) and President (1991-92) of INSA.

       History | Significant Landmark | Objectives | Committees | Local Chapters | Rules | Regulations | Current Fellows National | Current Fellows Foreign | Indian Fellows Elected | Foreign Fellows Elected | Council | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions
©Website design and developed by: INDIAN NATIONAL SCIENCE ACADEMY. Informatics Centre