Home   || Site Map ||    Contact Us

  Ramanuja Vijayaraghavan

Edit Your Details  
Click Here !!

Name Professor R Vijayaraghavan
(Professor Ramanuja Vijayaraghavan)
FNA ID N80-0876
Address 305, Vaigyanik Coop. Housing Society, Plot 58-59, Sector 14, Vashi,
City New Mumbai
Pin Code 400703
Country India
Gender Male
Specialization Solid State Physics
Service in the Council
Qualification PhD
Membership FASc, FNASc
  Award INSA Senior Scientist, 1996-01
  Year of Election 1980  
E-mail rv@tifr.res.in
Personal Website

Ramanuja Vijayaraghavan earned his BSc (Hons) (Physics) (1951) from Annamalai University and PhD (1962) from Bombay University. He worked at the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR), Mumbai from 1951 and served as Dean, Physics Faculty (1987-91). He retired as Distinguished Professor (1996) and thereafter, worked as INSA Senior Scientist (1996-2001) in SAMEER, IIT Campus, Mumbai. He briefly worked at the Fourier Institute, France (1959) as Research Scholar and at Osaka University, Japan (1976).

Academic and Research Achievements: Vijayaraghavan started the Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR) group in 1953 with Dharmatti. This group, having other facilities such as magnetic susceptibilities, became an internationally acclaimed group in the area of magnetism and solid state physics. He has several publications to his credit. He also taught graduate courses at TIFR, BARC and Bombay University. Two books on Magnetism and Superconductivity, featuring research articles, were published through World Scientific Publications, Singapore during his 60th birth celebrations in 1991.

Other Contributions: Vijayaraghavan was twice elected as Member of International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP) on Magnetism Commission.

Awards and Honours: Professor Vijayaraghavan was awarded SS Bhatnagar Prize in Physical Sciences (1976) and Raman Award by UGC (1983). He was elected Fellow of the Academy of Sciences, Bangalore and National Academy of Sciences (India), Allahabad.

       History | Significant Landmark | Objectives | Committees | Local Chapters | Rules | Regulations | Current Fellows National | Current Fellows Foreign | Indian Fellows Elected | Foreign Fellows Elected | Council | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions
©Website design and developed by: INDIAN NATIONAL SCIENCE ACADEMY. Informatics Centre