Home   || Site Map ||    Contact Us

  Veeravalli Venkata Ranga  Varadachari

Name Professor VVR Varadachari
(Professor Veeravalli Venkata Ranga Varadachari)
  Gender M
Birth 07-01-1925
Specialization Physical Oceanography
  Year of Election 1981  
  Demise 08-04-2007

Veeravalli Venkata Ranga Varadachari obtained DSc (1959) from Andhra University and DSc (hc) from Rani Durgavati University, Jabalpur. He was Director, National Institute of Oceanography (NIO), Goa and also Visiting Professor, Kerala University (1963-69).

Academic and Research Achievements:Varadachari contributed to physical oceanography, by delineating the physical and dynamic aspects of upwelling, wave refraction and ocean currents along the Indian coastline. He made significant contributions to coastal oceanography and coastal zone management, particularly on problems of beach erosion, mud banks along Kerala coast, littoral and rip currents, harbour sedimentation, and the like. His basic researches triggered applied researches and led to the sponsoring of projects in coastal oceanography. He made significant contributions on the role of Oceans on the Indian south-west monsoon and its variability using Ocean variables. He also authored a monograph on Oceans and Monsoon (NIO, Goa).

Other Contributions: As Director, NIO, Varadachari played a key role in the launching of first Indian Expedition to Antarctica in 1981 and expeditions in 1982-84. He was Indian representative at General Body Meetings of Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC) and Executive Committee meetings of IOC (1981-85). He was elected Member, Scientific Review Board, IOC (1981-86) and Vice-President, International Committee on Climatic Changes and the Ocean (1984-86).

Awards and Honours: Dr Varadachari was elected Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore and National Academy of Sciences (India), Allahabad.

       History | Significant Landmark | Objectives | Committees | Local Chapters | Rules | Regulations | Current Fellows National | Current Fellows Foreign | Indian Fellows Elected | Foreign Fellows Elected | Council | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions
©Website design and developed by: INDIAN NATIONAL SCIENCE ACADEMY. Informatics Centre