Home   || Site Map ||    Contact Us

  Nanjundappa Rudraiah

Edit Your Details  
Click Here !!

Name Professor N Rudraiah
(Professor Nanjundappa Rudraiah)
FNA ID N82-0682
Address 492/G, 7th Cross, 7th Block (West), Jayanagar,
City Bangalore
Pin Code 560070
Country India
Gender Male
Specialization Applied Mathematics, Fluid Mechanics
Service in the Council
Qualification PhD (UWO, Canada)
Membership FASc, FNASc, FIAM (UK), FUWA (India)
  Award Professor Vishnu Vasudeva Narlikar Memorial Lecture, 2000
INSA Senior Scientist, 1996-01
  Year of Election 1982  
E-mail rudraiahn@hotmail.com
Personal Website

Rudraiah worked as Lecturer in the Department of Mathematics at the Central College, Reader in Mathematics, Manasa Gangothri, University of Mysore (1965-67), and Professor of Mathematics, Bangalore University (1967- ) where he initiated both teaching and research program in magneto-hydrodynamics (MHD), also introduced a course in Mathematical Modelling as a fresh subject for MSc students. In 1983, he became the Head of the Department of Mathematics and Principal of Central College, Bangalore University. He also acted as Dean of Science, Bangalore University (1982-84), and was Vice-Chancellor of Gulbarga University (1990-96). At present he is working as (Honorary) Life-time Professor of Mathematics, Bangalore University.

Academic and Research Achievements: Rudraiah's research pertained to internal Alfven gravity waves, flow through and past porous media, heat and mass transfer, stability of flows, electro-hydrodynamics, Electrorheological fluids, chiral fluids, surface instabilities and biomechanical problems. He worked as a consultant on theoretical problems to New Government Electric Factory, Bangalore (1972) and worked on both theoretical and experimental work on totally enclosed fan cooled motors. He also worked on isolating eddy current loses in transformers of NGEF. In 1980, UGC identified his Centre for Fluid Mechanics as Department of Special Assistance. In 2001 UGC upgraded Department of Special Assistance to Centre of Advanced Studies in Fluid Mechanics. He published 282 research papers, guided 44 PhD students, and wrote 34 text books for Engineering and Science undergraduate students in addition to holding several patents.

Other Contributions: Rudraiah started the Centre for Fluid Mechanics, in Bangalore University (1967) which was later upgraded to the Centre for Advanced Studies in Fluid Mechanics. He also started the National Research Institute for Applied Mathematics (1996), where he worked as its (Honorary) Director. He has been on Editorial Board of the Journal of Porous Media, Indian Journal of Pure & Applied Mathematics and the Journal of Applied Fluid Mechanics.

Awards and Honours: Professor Rudraiah is recipient of many prestigious awards, notably UGC National Lecturership in Mathematics (1974-75), FICCI Gold Medal and Cash Award for outstanding contribution to Science and Technology; Karnataka State Rajyotsava Award (1986), KIT - International Award for Foreign Researcher, Japan (1990); Kalpasri Award for contribution to Education (1994), VV Narlikar Award for outstanding contribution in the field of Applied Mathematics (2000), Kannada Sahitya Parishath Award for contribution to Higher Education (2002); Distinguished Service Award by Vijnana Parishad of India (2002); William Mong Research Award by the University of Hong Kong (2003), and Sir M Visvesvaraya Award in Science and Technology for life time achievements (2006). He was elected twice as President of Indian Society of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics and once the President of Mathematics Section, 76th session of Indian Science Congress. He is Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore, National Academy of Sciences (India), Allahabad; and the Institute of Mathematics and Application, UK and is Fellow of United Writer Association.

       History | Significant Landmark | Objectives | Committees | Local Chapters | Rules | Regulations | Current Fellows National | Current Fellows Foreign | Indian Fellows Elected | Foreign Fellows Elected | Council | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions
©Website design and developed by: INDIAN NATIONAL SCIENCE ACADEMY. Informatics Centre