Home   || Site Map ||    Contact Us

  Satya Prakash

Edit Your Details  
Click Here !!

Name Professor Satya Prakash
(Professor Satya Prakash)
FNA ID N83-0711
Address 395, Saraswati Nagar, Near Azad Society,
City Ahmedabad
Pin Code 380015
Country India
Gender Male
Specialization Plasma Physics, Upper Atmospheric Physics and Space Borne Payloads
Service in the Council
Qualification PhD
Membership FASc, FNASc
  Year of Election 1983  
E-mail sprakash_prl@yahoo.com
Personal Website

Satya Prakash received MSc (1951) from Allahabad University. He received PhD (1957) from Gujarat University for his work on cosmic rays carried out at the Physical Research Laboratory (PRL), Ahmedabad under the supervision of VA Sarabhai and HV Neher. Later, he worked as postdoctoral fellow at National Research Council, Ottawa with IB McDiarmid (1958-60), and at Caltech, Pasadena with HV Neher (1960-62).

Academic and Research Achievements: Major contributions by Satya Prakash relate to developing indigenous Langmuir probes to study the plasma density irregularities in the equatorial electrojet (EEJ); Rocket borne payloads of Resonance probe, electric field probe and Lyman Alpha detector, payloads for the study of the energetic electrons on the first Indian satellite Aryabhatta, a space borne camera for air glow at 6300 A radiation on a space lab. VHF radar was developed and established at Thumba for structure and dynamics of the EEJ. Ultraviolet monochromator and light sources were developed for the calibration of UV detectors. Theoretical studies of the gravity wave wind generated electron density irregularities in the D, E and F region, electric field in the E region and their transmission to the F region via the geomagnetic field lines.

Other Contributions: The VHF radar developed by Professor Satya Prakash at Thumba has now grown into a powerful system and is being used for the study of the EEJ and the F-region dynamics. The vacuum ultraviolet monochromator, light sources and other associated techniques development by him lead to the development of Laboratory Astrophysics Group at PRL. Jointly with PK Kaw, he initiated a plasma simulation experimental program of the EEJ associated plasma density irregularities which later developed into Plasma Experimental Group at PRL.

Awards and Honours: Satya Prakash was awarded Padma Shree (1982) and Hari Om Ashram Prerit Dr Vikram Sarabhai Award for Space Sciences (1975). He was elected Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences, Banglore, National Academy of Sciences (India), Allahabad, and Gujarat Science Academy.

       History | Significant Landmark | Objectives | Committees | Local Chapters | Rules | Regulations | Current Fellows National | Current Fellows Foreign | Indian Fellows Elected | Foreign Fellows Elected | Council | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions
©Website design and developed by: INDIAN NATIONAL SCIENCE ACADEMY. Informatics Centre