Home   || Site Map ||    Contact Us

  Satish Chandra Agarwal

Name Professor SC Agarwal
(Professor Satish Chandra Agarwal)
  Gender M
Birth 1924
Specialization Medical Microbiology; Virology and Immunology
  Year of Election 1984  
  Demise 15-08-1997

Satish Chandra Agarwal obtained his MD degree (1953) from the University of Lucknow and PhD (1959) from the University of London, UK. His specialization was in medical microbiology, including virology and immunology. He was Associate Professor and Head, Microbiology Department, Postgraduate Institute of Medical Education and Research, Chandigarh (1964-71); Professor and Head, Department of Microbiology, Jawaharlal Institute of Medical Education and Research, Pondicherry (1971-79); Serologist to Government of India (1979-82); and Director, Professor and Chairman, Department of Microbiology, Institute of Medical Sciences, Srinagar (1983-87). He was an INSA Senior Scientist (1989-92).

Academic and Research Achievements: Agarwal's researches have shown that: (i) diphtheria toxin produces circulating failure by making arterioles refractory to adrenaline and noradrenaline; (ii) diphtheritic paralysis is due to diminished synthesis of acetylcholine in neurons; (iii) oral vaccine from L phase V. cholerae produces considerable immunogenicity; (iv) protein RNA vaccine from V. cholerae L-form lysates produces good immunity; and (v) protein RNA fraction from Nocardia asteroids is an effective immunizing agent in experimental myecetoma. Agarwal isolated, purified and characterized immunogenic fraction from S. typhi lysates.

Other Contributions: Agarwal was a Member of WHO Expert Group on Bacterial and Enteric Diseases (1972-79).

Awards and Honours: Agarwal received JHALA Award as Distinguished Microbiologist (1987). He was a Fellow of National Academy of Medical Sciences (India), and Royal College of Pathologists (London). He was Senior Member, Pathological Society of Great Britain and Ireland; and Founder President, Indian Association of Medical Microbiologists.

       History | Significant Landmark | Objectives | Committees | Local Chapters | Rules | Regulations | Current Fellows National | Current Fellows Foreign | Indian Fellows Elected | Foreign Fellows Elected | Council | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions
©Website design and developed by: INDIAN NATIONAL SCIENCE ACADEMY. Informatics Centre