Home   || Site Map ||    Contact Us

  Amal Kumar Raychaudhuri

Name Professor AK Raychaudhuri
(Professor Amal Kumar Raychaudhuri)
  Gender M
Birth 14-09-1923
Specialization Singularity in Relativistic Cosmology
  Year of Election 1987  
  Demise 18-06-2005

Amal Kumar Raychaudhuri received DSc (1960) from University of Calcutta and DSc (hc) from Burdwan University. He was INSA Senior Scientist (1988-91); Professor and Head, Physics Department, Presidency College, Kolkata; National Science Foundation Visiting Professor, University of Maryland, USA; and Honorary Visiting Professor, Jadavpur University, Kolkata.

Academic and Research Achievements: The equation deduced by Raychaudhuri and bearing his name played a crucial role in the investigations on singularity in relativistic cosmology. He also authored the books: (i) Lecture on Classical Mechanics, (ii) Theoretical Cosmology, (iii) Classical Theory of Electricity and Magnetism, and (iv) General Relativity, Astrophysics and Cosmology (co-author).

Awards and Honours: Professor Raychaudhuri was conferred INSA-Vainu Bappu Memorial Award (1991); and AC Banerjee Memorial Lecture Award by National Academy of Sciences (India), Allahabad. He was elected Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore, and National Academy of Sciences (India), Allahabad; Honorary Fellow, Astrophysical Society of India, and Inter-University Centre of Astronomy and Astrophysics, Pune.

       History | Significant Landmark | Objectives | Committees | Local Chapters | Rules | Regulations | Current Fellows National | Current Fellows Foreign | Indian Fellows Elected | Foreign Fellows Elected | Council | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions
©Website design and developed by: INDIAN NATIONAL SCIENCE ACADEMY. Informatics Centre