Home   || Site Map ||    Contact Us

  Ved Prakash Kamboj

Edit Your Details  
Click Here !!

Name Dr VP Kamboj
(Dr Ved Prakash Kamboj)
FNA ID N89-1021
Address C-1111, Oppostie Church, Indira Nagar,
City Lucknow
Pin Code 226016
Country India
Gender Male
Specialization Reproductive Biology, Contraception and Endocrinology
Service in the Council Ad.Mem, 1999
Ad.Mem, 1998
Ad.Mem, 2007
Member, 2008-2010
Qualification PhD, DSc
Membership FNASc, Mem NYASc
  Year of Election 1989  
E-mail Kambojvp@yahoo.com, Kambojvp@rediffmail.com
Personal Website

Ved Prakash Kamboj obtained his BSc and MSc (Hons School) degrees from Punjab University. He joined the newly formed Division of Endocrinology of the Central Drug Research Institute (CDRI), Lucknow (1961) under the supervision of Dr AB Kar. His studies on inhibition of spermatogenesis with metals and rare earth salts earned him a PhD degree (1965) and on Fertility Regulation with IUDs, steroids and nonsteroidal agents secured him a DSc degree from Panjab University, Chandigarh, the first post-partition DSc degree from this university. He led the Division of Endocrinology of CDRI (1982-91) and became the Director of CDRI in 1992. After retirement (1997) he took over as Chairman, Bharat Immunologicals and Biologicals Corporation Limited (BIBCOL), Bulandshahr (1998).

Academic and Research Achievements: Kamboj along with his co-workers contributed to recognition of CDRI as an international contraceptive research centre. He played a key role in the development of Centchroman as world's first nonsteroidal weekly oral contraceptive, Consap from sapindus saponins as an herbal local contraceptive and Dilex-C from Isabgol seed husk as a cheap, gradually swelling, self-lubricating device for cervical dilatation in MTP and other gynecological situations. In three and a half years time, he steered the production of an oral polio vaccine from 20 million doses to 300 million doses per year thereby converting this loss making oral polio vaccine production unit of Government of India into a profit-yielding unit. He has published 255 research papers and review articles, taken 42 patents and mentored a large number of students including about 20 PhD and 30 MD/MS students.

Other Contributions: As Director of CDRI, Dr Kamboj strengthened relationship of the Institute with both national and international industry by initiating joint R&D programmes. He initiated herbal drug development following WHO guidelines, but based on traditional knowledge and herbal drug wealth. The CDRI released 5 products for marketing in 1996, developed and licensed drug technologies for 11 drugs to industry for marketing and licensed 6 products to national and international industry for joint development. He has served as General Secretary (1997-2000, 2004), Vice-President (1995-96) and President (2005-06) National Academy of Sciences (India), Allahabad. Dr Kamboj served as Steering Committee Member of three WHO task forces, three years in each (1977-98), Member Apex Committee and Joint Working Group (Indian side) of the Indo-US Vaccine Action Programme (1997-2002), Sub-Workinh Group on Biotechnology under the Indo-Russian Group on Science and Technology (1998-2002), Indo-Swiss Group on Biotechnology to formulate new ISCB (1998-2003), Chairman Joint Working Group (Indian side) of the Indo-US Programme on Contraceptive and Reproductive Health Research (1998-2002) and Chairman Health Systems Research and Biomedical Research and Development of Ninth Five Year Plan (1995-96). He also served on Editorial Board of Indian Journal of Experimental Biology, Indian Journal of Medical Research, Journal of Research in Ayurveda and Siddha, Bulletin of Ethno Botanical Research, National Academy Science Letters, medicinal and Aromatic Plant Abstracts, JMAPS and Indian Drugs. He has served as additional Council Member of INSA (1998-99, 2007) and is its Member (2008-10).

Awards and Honours: Kamboj received the VASVIK Research Award (1989), RANBAXY Research Award (1992) Engineer Memorial Oration (1992), Bharat Jyoti Award (1993), KN Bahl Memorial Gold Medal (1995), Ved Prakash Seth Foundation Award (1996),  , Shri Om Prakash Bhasin Award (1996), BN Ghosh Lecture Oration Award (1996), Gujral-Bhargava Memorial Oration Award (1997), FICCI Award (1997), Vigyan Gaurav Samman of Government of Uttar Pradesh (2000), Prof. Vishwa Nath Award Lecture (2011), Dr. Vishwa Nath Memorial Lecture (2011), Vigyan Ratna Award of Panjab University (2011), Panjab University Pharmaceutical Sciences Oration Award (2013), Vigyan Bhibhushan Award of 1st Uttar Pradesh Science Congress (2013), Indian Science Congress Association Award (2014), ISSRF Award (2014), Hon. Professor BBAU Lucknow (2016), Hon. Professor Panjab University, Chandigarh (2015) and Vigyan Ratna Award by BBAU, Lucknow (2016) . He is a Fellow of National Academy of Science (India), Allahabad (1991).

       History | Significant Landmark | Objectives | Committees | Local Chapters | Rules | Regulations | Current Fellows National | Current Fellows Foreign | Indian Fellows Elected | Foreign Fellows Elected | Council | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions
©Website design and developed by: INDIAN NATIONAL SCIENCE ACADEMY. Informatics Centre