Home   || Site Map ||    Contact Us

  Bikash Chandra Sinha

Edit Your Details  
Click Here !!

Name Dr BC Sinha
(Dr Bikash Chandra Sinha)
FNA ID N89-1036
Address Homi Bhabha Professor, DAE, Variable Energy Cyclotron Centre, Department of Atomic Energy (DAE), Sector 1, Block-AF Bidhan Nagar
City Kolkata
Pin Code 700064
Country India
Gender Male
Specialization Nuclear Physics, High Energy Physics, Quark Gluon Plasma, Early Universe Cosmology
Service in the Council Member, 2001-2003
Ad Member, 2016
Qualification PhD, DSc
Membership FNASc, FTWAS, FASc
  Award The Meghnad Saha Medal, 2015
  Year of Election 1989  
E-mail bikash@vecc.gov.in
Personal Website

Bikash Sinha obtained BSc (1964) from Calcutta University, BA (1967) from Cambridge, and MA (Natural Science) (1968), PhD (1970) from London University, DSc (1981) also from London University and PhD (hc) from National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine (2005). He was Senior Research Fellow in King's College, London up to 1976. He joined Bhabha Atomic Research Centre in 1976 and became Director, Variable Energy Cyclotron Centre (VECC), Kolkata in 1987. He is concurrently Director of Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics (SINP) (1992- ).

Academic and Research Achievements: Sinha's early research field was in nuclear physics, specifically in the nuclear optical model and nuclear structure studies. His noteworthy contributions include the use of density dependent nucleon-nucleon interactions, mean free path of nucleons in nuclei, and response of nucleus to incident single particles and imaginary part of optical model potential. During early 80s, Sinha started working in the field of relativistic heavy collisions and quark gluon plasma formation where he made seminal contributions which firmly established photons and dileptons as probes as well as signatures of quark hadron transition. His other works include discovery of limits of survival probability of quark nuggets from the early universe. He established a theoretical as well as experimental groups at VECC and SINP for the study of quark gluon plasma. He also led the teams which designed, fabricated, and tested four photon multiplicity detectors for use at SPS, RHIC and LHC, a muon-arm for use at LHC and a chip named MANAS for use with the major detectors at LHC. In India, he led the team building the superconducting cyclotron and the radio active ion beam at Kolkata, and established the 30 MeV proton cyclotron for medical applications.

Other Contributions: Under the leadership of Professor Sinha, both VECC and SINP have developed into front ranking institutes in the country for research in nuclear sciences. He has made outstanding contributions in R&D associated with the natural helium gas emanating from the thermal springs at Bakreswar and Tantloi. He has taken keen interest in the application of nuclear medicine for treatment and diagnostics, especially for cancer patients at the Medicine Centre, Kolkata. He is well known for his leadership in science education, popularization of science and furthering scientific temperament. He also served as Member, Scientific Advisory Council to the Prime Minister (2005) and the Cabinet, Government of India (1998).

Awards and Honours: Professor Sinha was bestowed the SN Bose Birth Centenary Award (1994), Padma Shree (2001), PA Pandya Endowment Lecture Award (2001), RD Birla Award for Excellence in Physics (2002), Alexander von Humbolt Research Award (2005), MN Saha Memorial Lecture Award (2007) of the National Academy of Sciences (India), and Bidhan Memorial Honour (2008) by Bidhan Memorial Trust. He was elected Chairman of the International Radiation Physics (1997) and National Committee for International Union for Pure & Applied Physics (1998). He was elected Fellow of the National Academy of Sciences (India), Allahabad (1993), New York Academy of Sciences (1997), the Academy of Sciences for the Developing World (2002) and Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore (2004).

       History | Significant Landmark | Objectives | Committees | Local Chapters | Rules | Regulations | Current Fellows National | Current Fellows Foreign | Indian Fellows Elected | Foreign Fellows Elected | Council | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions
©Website design and developed by: INDIAN NATIONAL SCIENCE ACADEMY. Informatics Centre