Home   || Site Map ||    Contact Us

  Hrishi Bhu Tewari

Edit Your Details  
Click Here !!

Name Professor HB Tewari
(Professor Hrishi Bhu Tewari)
FNA ID N90-1071
Address HIG, 4/447, Housing Board Colony, Goverdhan Villas,
City Udaipur
Pin Code 313001
Country India
Gender Male
Specialization Cell Biology, Histochemistry & Neurochemistry
Service in the Council
Qualification DPhil, PhD (Emory, USA), DSc
Membership FNASc
  Year of Election 1990  
Personal Website

Hrishi Bhu Tewari did his DPhil (1951), DSc (1965) from University of Allahabad and PhD (1961), Emory University, USA specializing in cell biology, histochemistry and neurochemistry. He served as Senior Professor and Founder Head, Department of Zoology; Director, School of Basic Sciences and Humanities; Dean, College of Science; Dean, Post-Graduate Studies; UGC Emeritus Fellow (1993); and CSIR Emeritus Scientist (1991-93) all at University of Udaipur (now Sukhadia University).

Academic and Research Achievements: Tewari has worked on the histochemistry of mammalian nervous system, covering topographical, intercellular and intracellular aspects of enzymatic distribution and their functional linkages in the various regions of brain. The highlights of his research are the original demonstration of enzymatic cycles in neurons, cytochrome oxidase in nucleus, glucose-6-phosphatase in central nervous system and nuclear extrusions in spinal ganglion cells.

Other Contributions: Hrishi Bhu Tiwari was the co-author of a chapter in Cytology and Cell Physiology (Academic Press); and also served as co-editor of Cellular Molecular Biology.

Awards and Honours: Tiwari is a Fellow, National Academy of Sciences (India), Allahabad, Zoological Society of London, Royal Microscopical Society of England, Zoological Society, Calcutta (sometime Vice-President), and Zoological Society of India.

       History | Significant Landmark | Objectives | Committees | Local Chapters | Rules | Regulations | Current Fellows National | Current Fellows Foreign | Indian Fellows Elected | Foreign Fellows Elected | Council | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions
©Website design and developed by: INDIAN NATIONAL SCIENCE ACADEMY. Informatics Centre