Home   || Site Map ||    Contact Us

  Ganapathy Baskaran

Edit Your Details  
Click Here !!

Name Professor G Baskaran
(Professor Ganapathy Baskaran)
FNA ID N92-1086
Address Sr Professor of Physics, Institute of Mathematical Sciences,
City Chennai
Pin Code 600113
Country India
Gender Male
Specialization Condensed Matter Physics, Statistical Mechanics and Theoretical Biology
Service in the Council
Qualification PhD
Membership FASc
  Year of Election 1992  
E-mail baskaran@ims.in
Personal Website

Ganapathy Baskaran obtained his PhD (1975) from the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore. His specialization was in condensed matter physics, statistical mechanics and quantum field theory. He has held the position of Reader, Department of Physics, University of Madras (1979-82), Visiting Professor at SISSA and ICTP, Italy (1982-84), Research Staff, Physics Department, Princeton University (1984-87), and Professor of Physics, Institute of Mathematical Science, CIT Campus, Madras (1987 onwards).

Academic and Research Achievements: Baskaran's contributions lie in the fields of (i) quantum theory of spin chains, (ii) fractional quantized Hall effect, (iii) high-temperature superconductors and strongly correlated electron system, (iv) random lattice gauge theory; and (v) optimization problems. He has made seminal contributions to the development of the resonating bond theory of high-temperature superconductivity in strongly correlated electron systems. His reformulation of resonating valence bond as a local gauge theory has opened up new directions in the field.

Other Contributions: Baskaran has co-edited 3 Volumes on Strongly Correlated Electron Systems (World Scientific, Singapore).

Awards and Honours: Baskaran received Kastler Prize (1983) and SS Bhatnagar Prize (1990). He is a Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore.

       History | Significant Landmark | Objectives | Committees | Local Chapters | Rules | Regulations | Current Fellows National | Current Fellows Foreign | Indian Fellows Elected | Foreign Fellows Elected | Council | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions
©Website design and developed by: INDIAN NATIONAL SCIENCE ACADEMY. Informatics Centre