Home   || Site Map ||    Contact Us

  Surendra Prasad

Edit Your Details  
Click Here !!

Name Professor Surendra Prasad
(Professor Surendra Prasad)
FNA ID N94-1156
Address Director, Indian Institute of Technology,
City New Delhi
Pin Code 110016
Country India
Gender Male
Specialization Signal Processing & Communications
Service in the Council VP, 2002-2004
Qualification PhD
Membership FNAE, FASc
  Award K S Krishnan Memorial Lecture, 2010
  Year of Election 1994  
E-mail sprasad@ee.iitd.ernet.in
Personal Website

Surendra Prasad received the BTech in electronics and electrical communication engineering from IIT Kharagpur in 1969, and MTech and PhD degrees in electrical communication engineering from IIT Delhi in 1971 and 1974, respectively. He was conferred Doctor of Technology (hc) by Loughborough University, UK. He has been working at IIT Delhi since 1971, where he has been Professor of Electrical Engineering, Coordinator of the Bharti School of Telecom Technology and Management and Deputy Director (F). Presently, he is working as Director, IIT Delhi. He was Visiting Research Fellow at the Loughborough University of Technology (1976-77), and Visiting Faculty Member at the Pennsylvania State University (1985-86).

Academic and Research Achievements: The teaching and research interests of Prasad are in the area of communication engineering and statistical and digital signal processing. He has been Consultant to a number of government agencies as well as to industries in these and related areas. Currently, he is engaged in research in various aspects of statistical signal processing and communications, including wireless communications.

Other Contributions: Dr Prasad has been a Member of the Governing Body of CSIR and CSIR Society.

Awards and Honours: Dr Prasad is recipient of the Vikram Sarabhai Research Award in Electronics and Telecommunications (1987), SS Bhatnagar Award for Engineering Sciences (1988), and Om Prakash Bhasin Prize for research in Electronics and Communications (1994). He has also been awarded the prestigious JC Bose Fellowship of DST for a period of five years and the meritorious Rajkumar Varshney Award in Systems Theory by the Systems Society of India (2007). He has also been honoured as Distinguished Alumnus of IIT Kharagpur (2007). He has been elected Fellow of the Indian National Academy of Engineering, and Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore.

       History | Significant Landmark | Objectives | Committees | Local Chapters | Rules | Regulations | Current Fellows National | Current Fellows Foreign | Indian Fellows Elected | Foreign Fellows Elected | Council | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions
©Website design and developed by: INDIAN NATIONAL SCIENCE ACADEMY. Informatics Centre