Home   || Site Map ||    Contact Us

  Kalyan Bidhan Sinha

Edit Your Details  
Click Here !!

Name Professor KB Sinha
(Professor Kalyan Bidhan Sinha)
FNA ID N94-1163
Address Bhatnagar Fellow & Hon. Professor, Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, P.O. Jakkur,
City Bangalore
Pin Code 560064
Country India
Gender Male
Specialization Spectral Theory and Non-commutative Geometry & Stochastic Processes
Service in the Council Member, 2003-2005
Qualification PhD
Membership FASc
  Award Professor VV Narlikar Memorial Lecture, 2009
  Year of Election 1994  
E-mail kbs@jncasr.ac.in, kbs_jaya@yahoo.co.in
Personal Website

Kalyan Bidhan Sinha did his MSc from Delhi University and PhD (1969) from University of Rochester, USA under the supervision of GG Emch, working on the topic Representation of canonical commutation relation and field equations. Subsequently, he worked at the University of Geneva, Switzerland. Upon returning to India, he joined as Professor, Statistics & Mathematics Unit, Delhi Centre, Indian Statistical Institute (ISI) in 1979. He worked there till his superannuation (2006).

Academic and Research Achievements: Sinha initiated research in the theory of unbounded operators, in the theory of non-commutative stochastic processes (in collaboration with KR Parthasarathy) and non-commutative geometry. These areas were either newly introduced in India or were created here. In 1977, Sinha in collaboration with Amrein and Jauch in Geneva wrote the definitive text Mathematical Theory of Scattering in Quantum Mechanics. He authored another book (with D Goswami): Quantum Stochastic Processes and Non-Commutative Geometry (Cambridge University Press, 2007) and has written over 90 research articles and reviews.

Other Contributions: During 2000-05, Sinha was mostly at the Kolkata campus of the ISI as its Director and managed the Institute through the Third Review Committee chaired by CNR Rao. During this phase, Sinha reorganized the structure of the Kolkata campus. He also served as Member of the INSA Council (2003-05), and The Academy of Sciences for the Developing World (TWAS).

Awards and Honours: Professor Sinha received the SS Bhatnagar Prize (1988), CV Raman Award (1989), PCM Medal of Indian Science Congress (2002), and Bhatnagar Fellowship. He was elected Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore (1986) and was also its Vice President (1995-97,2010-12).He is ,at present,

SERB-Distinguished Fellow(2014-) and Hony.Professor, J.Nehru Centre for Adv.Sc.Research, Bangalore;

Professor Emeritus of the Indian Statistical Institute and Distinguished Associate,  I.M.I., Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore.

       History | Significant Landmark | Objectives | Committees | Local Chapters | Rules | Regulations | Current Fellows National | Current Fellows Foreign | Indian Fellows Elected | Foreign Fellows Elected | Council | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions
©Website design and developed by: INDIAN NATIONAL SCIENCE ACADEMY. Informatics Centre