Home   || Site Map ||    Contact Us

  Satish Kumar Gupta

Edit Your Details  
Click Here !!

Name Dr SK Gupta
(Dr Satish Kumar Gupta)
FNA ID P01-1294
Address Staff Scientist VII, Chief Gamete Antigen Laboratory, National Institute of Immunology, Aruna Asaf Ali Marg
City New Delhi
Pin Code 110067
Country India
Gender Male
Specialization Reproductive Biology/Immunology, Immunodiagnostics, Vaccine Development,
Service in the Council
Qualification PhD
Membership FASc, FNASc FAMS
  Award INSA Medal for Young Scientists, 1982
The Nitya Anand Endowment Lecture, 2003
  Year of Election 2001  
E-mail skgupta@nii.res.in
Personal Website

Satish Kumar Gupta did his BSc from Delhi University, MSc in Medical Biochemistry as well as PhD (Biochemistry, 1983) from All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi. In 1982 he joined as Research Officer at the newly established, National Institute of Immunology (NII), New Delhi, and worked as Visiting Fellow/Professor at various institutions, namely, Institut Pasteur, Paris; The Jones Institute for Reproductive Medicine, Norfolk, USA; The Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, USA; Laboratory of Molecular Biology, MRC, Cambridge, UK; CS Mott Centre for Human Growth and Development, Wayne State University, Detroit, USA; Hyogo College of Medicine, Nishinomiya, Japan; Centers for Disease Control, Atlanta, USA; Friedrich Schielder University, Jena, Germany.

Academic and Research Achievements: Dr Gupta has made pioneering contributions in elucidating the biological functions of reproductive hormones such as human chorionic gonadotropin and gonadotropin released hormone and oocyte specific zona pellucida (ZP) glycoproteins by employing monoclonal antibodies as specific probes. The B cell epitope mapping, and cloning and expression studies have led to new insight into the role of ZP glycoproteins in fertilization. Furthermore, these studies have helped in designing synthetic peptides/recombinant proteins as candidate immunogens to regulate fertility as applicable to humans and animals. He along with Professor GP Talwar were the first to establish hybridoma technology, secreting monoclonal antibody of defined specificity in India. In addition, he has contributed in the development of indigenous diagnostic kits for pregnancy detection, identification of group-A streptococci in throat swabs and antibodies in the serum against HIV-1 and HIV-2 infections. His group is also engaged in identification and isolation of plant-based compounds having anti-HIV activity. He has published 169 research papers and mentored twelve PhD students.

Other Contributions: Dr Gupta has served as Member of various Task Forces/Advisory Groups of Department of Biotechnology and Indian Council of Medical Research. Dr Gupta has successfully conducted several national/international conferences including VII International Congress of Reproductive Immunology (1998) that was held, for the first time, in a developing country and served as an elected Council Member of International Society for Immunology of Reproduction (1998-2004). He has edited 6 volumes and served as Member of the Editorial Board of several journals including Indian Journal of Medical Research, Reproductive Biomedicine Online, Journal of Reproductive Immunology and Reproductive Biology and Endocrinology.

Awards and Honours: Dr Gupta received INSA Medal for Young Scientists (1982), Shakuntala Amir Chand Prize by the ICMR (1984), VASVIK Award by Vividhlaxi Audyogik Samshodhan Vikas Kendra, Mumbai (1994), Smt Swaran Kanta Dingley Oration Award by the ICMR (1995), SS Bhatnagar Prize by CSIR (1997) and Dr Nitya Anand Endowment Lecture Award by INSA (2003). He is a Fellow of the National Academy of Sciences (India), Allahabad (1994), Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore (1998) and National Academy of Medical Sciences, India (2005).

       History | Significant Landmark | Objectives | Committees | Local Chapters | Rules | Regulations | Current Fellows National | Current Fellows Foreign | Indian Fellows Elected | Foreign Fellows Elected | Council | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions
©Website design and developed by: INDIAN NATIONAL SCIENCE ACADEMY. Informatics Centre