Home   || Site Map ||    Contact Us

  Tej Pal Singh

Edit Your Details  
Click Here !!

Name Professor TP Singh
(Professor Tej Pal Singh)
FNA ID P01-1304
Address SERB-Distinguished Fellow, Department of Biophysics, All India Institute of Medical Sciences, Ansari Nagar
City New Delhi
Pin Code 110029
Country India
Gender Male
Specialization Structural Biology, Protein Structures, Peptide Design and Drug Discovery
Service in the Council VP, 2007-2009
Qualification PhD
Membership FASc, FNASc, FTWAS
  Award Professor GN Ramachandran 60th Birthday Commemoration Medal, 2006
JL Nehru Birth Centenary Lecture, 2011
  Year of Election 2001  
E-mail tpsingh.aiims@gmail.com
Personal Website

Tej Pal Singh obtained BSc and MSc degrees from University of Allahabad, and PhD (1976) from Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore under the supervision of Professor M Vijayan. He then joined University of Indore as Lecturer. Thereafter, he was awarded the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation Fellowship with Professor Robert Huber at the Max-Planck Institute for Biochemistry in Munich, Germany and worked there on the structure determinations of serine proteases including trypsin and trypsinogen at sub zero temperatures. Upon returning to India in 1980, he joined as Reader at the Sardar Patel University and set up a centre of X-ray crystallographic research. In 1982, he joined the Institute for Crystallography, Berlin to work on the structure determinations of Proteinase K and Rubisco enzymes. In 1983, he joined the Department of Biophysics, All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi where he continues to work as SERB Distinguished Fellow.

Academic and Research Achievements: Singh\\\\\\\'s earlier research dealt with studies on the structure and function relationship of antibacterial sulfonamides. Thereafter, he initiated the work on peptide design with ????dehydro amino acids and proposed design rules for peptides with a,b-dehydro-residues. His group produced a large number of designed peptides prepared using structure-based rational design for protein targets such as endothelin receptor, phospholipase A2, cyclo-oxygenase-2 and breast cancer factor, SPX-40. His group carried out large scale structure determinations of proteins from several systems, such as secretory proteins from mammary gland during its various functional phases, proteins of the inflammatory pathway, proteins from parasites including mycobacterium, plant antigen proteins and proteins from the human body fluids, etc. His group has so far contributed more than 610 sets of protein structure coordinates to the protein data bank (PDB) and authored over 430 research articles. He has also mentored more than 83 PhD students.

Other Contributions: Professor Singh has set up a Structural Biology and Drug Design Laboratory at All India Institute of Medical Sciences. He has been serving as Chairman of a committee for implementing a major DST initiative to improve the infrastructural support in the north-eastern region of the country, and as Member of the Board of Governors of IIT Kharagpur. He is a Chairman/member of a number of Committees. He is a elected Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore (FASc), National Academy of Sciences (India), Allahabad (FNASc) and the World Academy of Sciences (FTWAS). He served INSA as Vice President (2007-09).

Awards and Honours: Singh received SASTRA-G.N. Ramachandran Award for Excellenmce in Science in 2020, Elected President of the Bio-informatics and Drug Design Society (BIDDS) (2020-2022),Elected President of the Biotech Research Society of India (2019-2021), Awarded SERB-Distinguished Fellowship (2019-2024), President of the Bio-informatics and Drug Design Society (India) (BIDDS) (2018-2020), Elected President of the Biotech Research Society of India (BRSI) (2017-2019), Dr. G.N. Ramachandran Award of the Kerala State Council of Science, Technology and Environment-2017, Professor G.N. Ramachandran-Born day lecture of the Central University of Haryana, Mahendergarh-2016, Life Time Achievement Award of the Biotech Research Society of India-2015, Professor G.N. Ramachandran Lecture Award of the Society of Biological Chemists of India – 2015,Centenary Speaker Award of the University of Mysore - 2015, Life Long Honorary Distinguished Professor of the University of Mysore - 2014,Professor D.M. Bose (129th Birthday)Memorial Lecture of the Bose Institute, Kolkata - 2013, Elected President of the Indian Biophysical Society, 2013 - 2015, 52nd Agharkar Memorial Lecture at the DST-Agharkar Research Institute, Pune - 2012,Bhramara’s Life Time Achievement Award Mysore - 2012, Foundation day Lecture of the National Institute of Science Education and Research, Bhubaneswar-2011, Jawaharlal Nehru Birth Centenary Lecture Award of INSA-2011,Annual Award of the Instrumentation Society of India–2011, Elected President of Indian Crystallographic Association, 2011 - 2013, Doctor of Science, D.Sc. (h.c.) conferred by Karnataka State Open University, Mysore-2010, CSIR Foundation Day Lecture Award-2010, Eelected Vice-President of The Indian National Science Academy, 2007-2009, Goyal Prize in Life Sciences-2007, Professor G.N. Ramachandran CSIR Gold Medal for the Excellence in Biological Sciences and Technology - 2006, Professor G.N. Ramachandran 60th Birthday Commemoration INSA Medal-2006, Sir J. C. Bose Memorial Award of the Indian Science Congress-2006, K.K. Foundation award for Excellence in Science and Technology-2001, Canadian Development agency Award-1991, Alexander von Humboldt Foundation Fellowship-1978, Danish International Development Agency Award -1977, First Rank in M.Sc. in the University of Allahabad - 1971\r\n\r\n\r\n\r\n\r\n\r\n\r\n\r\n

       History | Significant Landmark | Objectives | Committees | Local Chapters | Rules | Regulations | Current Fellows National | Current Fellows Foreign | Indian Fellows Elected | Foreign Fellows Elected | Council | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions
©Website design and developed by: INDIAN NATIONAL SCIENCE ACADEMY. Informatics Centre