Home   || Site Map ||    Contact Us

  Adusumilli Srikrishna

Name Professor A Srikrishna
(Professor Adusumilli Srikrishna)
  Gender M
Birth 01-01-1955
Specialization Organic Chemistry
  Year of Election 2002  
  Demise 20-01-2013

Adusumilli Srikrishna obained BSc (1973) and MSc (1975) degrees from Andhra University, and MPhil (1977) from University of Hyderabad. Subsequently, he joined the School of Chemistry, University of Hyderabad, where he worked on the synthesis and transformations of triquinanes under the supervision of Goverdhan Mehta and obtained PhD (1982). He did postdoctoral research (1982-85) in the universities of Chicago and Columbia, USA. In 1985, he joined the Department of Organic Chemistry, Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore as Faculty Member, and currently continuing there as Professor.

Academic and Research Achievements:Srikrishna has made significant contributions in organic synthesis covering development of synthetic methodologies, total synthesis of natural products both in racemic and enantiomeric forms, development of new reagents for selective organic transformations, and investigation and application of molecular rearrangements in organic synthesis. He accomplished the total synthesis of a large number of sesquiterpenes, both in racemic as well as optically active, and in the process confirmed/established the absolute configuration of several natural products. He has published nearly 250 papers in internationally reputed chemistry journals and mentored 23 PhD students.

Other Contributions: Srikrishna served as Member of the Editorial boards of the Proceedings of the Indian National Science Academy (2002-05) and the Indian Journal of Chemistry, Section B (2002).

Awards and Honours: Professor Srikrishna was bestowed the Young Scientist Medal by INSA (1987), Dr S Husain Zaheer Young Scientist Award (1993), BM Birla Science Award in Chemistry (1994), Professor RD Desai 85th Birth Day Commemoration Medal and Prize (1996), SS Bhatnagar Prize in Chemical Sciences (1997), and AB Kulkarni Endowment Lectureship by Bombay University (1998). Professor S Swaminathan Endowment Award by University of Madras (2002-03); Professor JC Ghosh Memorial Award by Indian Chemical Society (2008). He was elected Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore (1993) and National Academy of Sciences (India), Allahabad (2001).

       History | Significant Landmark | Objectives | Committees | Local Chapters | Rules | Regulations | Current Fellows National | Current Fellows Foreign | Indian Fellows Elected | Foreign Fellows Elected | Council | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions
©Website design and developed by: INDIAN NATIONAL SCIENCE ACADEMY. Informatics Centre