Home   || Site Map ||    Contact Us

  Mariappan Periasamy

Edit Your Details  
Click Here !!

Name Professor M Periasamy
(Professor Mariappan Periasamy)
FNA ID P05-1395
Address Professor, School of Chemistry, University of Hyderabad, Central University P.O. Hyderabad
City Hyderabad
Pin Code 500046
Country India
Gender Male
Specialization Organic Chemistry, Organometallics and Chiral Reagents Chemistry
Service in the Council
Qualification PhD
Membership FASc
  Award Professor S Swaminathan 60th Birthday Commemoration Lecture, 2010
  Year of Election 2005  
E-mail mpsc@uohyd.ernet.in, mariappan.periasamy@gmail.com
Personal Website

Mariappan Periasamy obtained BSc (1973) and MSc (1975), both from American College, Madurai; and PhD (Organic Chemistry) (1979) from the Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore with MV Bhatt for his studies on mechanism of SET oxidation of aromatic rings. After a postdoctoral stint with HC Brown at Purdue University, USA (1979-82) for studies on non-classical ion problem, he joined the School of Chemistry, University of Hyderabad (1982) where he continues to work.

Academic and Research Achievements: Periasamy's notable findings involve development of new organic synthetic methods using boron and transition metal reagents. His research group devised several new routes to organometallics and chiral reagents using simple bench-top chemicals for synthetic applications. The NaBH4/I2 reagent system developed by his research group is widely used for large-scale processes in industries. Since 2000, he has worked on the development of cost-effective small-scale processes and machines for production of electricity from biomass/solar energy and regeneration of zinc from zinc oxide after use in fuel cells.

Other Contributions: Professor Periasamy served as Member on the Editorial boards of Indian Journal of Chemistry, Section B (2008-); Synthesis & Synlett, Thieme, Germany (2009-). He was Member, International Scientific Committee on Boron Chemistry (2007- ).

Awards and Honours: Periasamy was conferred the Professor BH Iyer Medal by IISc, Bangalore (1978-79), Dr Husain Zaheer Science Foundation Young Scientist Award by CSIR-IICT (1992), Professor NS Narasimhan Endowment Award by Poona University (1995); SS Bhatnagar Prize for Chemical Sciences (1996); Professor AB Kulkarni Endowment Lectureship by University of Mumbai (1999), Professor DP Chakraborty 60th Birth Anniversary Award by Indian Chemical Society (2004), JC Bose National Fellowship by DST (2006-11) and the Silver Medal by the Chemical Research Society of India (2007). He was also elected Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore (1994).

       History | Significant Landmark | Objectives | Committees | Local Chapters | Rules | Regulations | Current Fellows National | Current Fellows Foreign | Indian Fellows Elected | Foreign Fellows Elected | Council | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions
©Website design and developed by: INDIAN NATIONAL SCIENCE ACADEMY. Informatics Centre