Home   || Site Map ||    Contact Us

  Deevi Basavaiah

Edit Your Details  
Click Here !!

Name Professor Deevi Basavaiah
(Professor Deevi Basavaiah)
FNA ID P06-1406
Address School of Chemistry, University of Hyderabad, Central University PO,
City Hyderabad
Pin Code 500046
Country India
Gender Male
Specialization Organic Chemistry: Baylis-Hillman Chemistry and Chiral Catalysis
Service in the Council
Qualification PhD
Membership FASc
  Award Professor T R Seshadri 70th Birthday Commemoration Medal (2009)
  Year of Election 2006  
E-mail dbsc@uohyd.ernet.in
Personal Website http://www.uohyd.ernet.in

D Basavaiah completed his BSc at the Andhra Loyola College, Vijayawada (Andhra University) in 1970 and subsequently his MSc in Organic Chemistry from the Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi in 1972. He obtained his PhD degree in 1979. He then worked in the research group of Herbert C Brown at Purdue University USA as a post-doctoral fellow before joining the University of Hyderabad.

Academic and Research Achievements: The development of the Baylis-Hillman reaction as one of the most useful synthetic tools in synthetic chemistry is the main objective of his research. Basavaiah has been systematically working on the Baylis-Hillman reaction for the last twenty-four years and made fundamental, original, and significant contributions for the development of this reaction as a powerful synthetic tool in organic chemistry. He has also contributed significantly to other areas like biotransformations and chiral catalysis.

Awards and Honours: Basavaiah received the CRSI Bronze Medal in 2000, and the Professor TR Govindachari Sixteeth Birthday Commemoration Endowment Award in Organic Chemistry (1999-2000), the JC Bose Fellowship (2008), CRSI Silver Medal (2008) and Professor TR Seshadri Seventieth Birthday Commemoration Medal of INSA (2009). He is a Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore (1997).

       History | Significant Landmark | Objectives | Committees | Local Chapters | Rules | Regulations | Current Fellows National | Current Fellows Foreign | Indian Fellows Elected | Foreign Fellows Elected | Council | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions
©Website design and developed by: INDIAN NATIONAL SCIENCE ACADEMY. Informatics Centre