Home   || Site Map ||    Contact Us

  Yagya Dutta Sharma

Edit Your Details  
Click Here !!

Name Professor YD Sharma
(Professor Yagya Dutta Sharma)
FNA ID P06-1423
Address Head, Department of Biotechnology, All India Institute of Medical Sciences, Ansari Nagar
City New Delhi
Pin Code 110029
Country India
Gender Male
Specialization Molecular parasitology, Malaria, Molecular Epidemiology
Service in the Council
Qualification PhD
Membership FNASc, FASc
  Year of Election 2006  
E-mail ydsharma_aiims@yahoo.com, ydsharma@hotmail.com
Personal Website http://www.aiims.ac.in

Yagya Dutta Sharma did his BSc and MSc from Agra University, and PhD from Rohilkhand University while working on 'serum glycoproteins'. During his Post Doc at All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS) (1978-81), he worked on 'fluorosis'. He joined Professor Marvin Tanzer for his postdoctoral work on 'collagen biochemisty & molecular biology' at University of Connecticut Health Center, USA in 1982 and then shifted to the field of molecular parasitology at Public Health Research Institute, New York in 1984 where he cloned the knob protein gene of Plasmodium falciparum malaria parasite. On returning to India, he joined Malaria Research Centre for a brief period of six months as Pool Officer and then shifted to AIIMS as Associate Professor in the Department of Biotechnology where he is now working as Professor and Head (1998- ).

Academic and Research Achievements: Sharma established a research laboratory on molecular parasitology at AIIMS. His research produced several potential drugs and vaccine targets for P. vivax malaria. He also did extensive work on molecular epidemiology of drug resistant malaria in India. He authored over 100 research articles and several book chapters and also guided over 40 MBiotech and 15 PhD students.

Other Contributions: Professor Sharma established facilities for Molecular Malariology at AIIMS and also created the new Department of Biotechnology there. He served as Member of the Editorial boards of national/international journals of his field; and also served on several Teaching/Scientific/Research Advisory committees of universities and research institutions.

Awards and Honours: Professor Sharma was awarded the SS Bhatnagar Prize (1994); Dr MOT Iyangar Prize (1995) by ICMR; and Molecular Parasitology Award of Academy of Vectors and Vector Borne Diseases (2000). He was elected Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore; and National Academy of Sciences (India), Allahabad.

       History | Significant Landmark | Objectives | Committees | Local Chapters | Rules | Regulations | Current Fellows National | Current Fellows Foreign | Indian Fellows Elected | Foreign Fellows Elected | Council | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions
©Website design and developed by: INDIAN NATIONAL SCIENCE ACADEMY. Informatics Centre