Home   || Site Map ||    Contact Us

  Pratim Kumar Chattaraj

Edit Your Details  
Click Here !!

Name Professor PK Chattaraj
(Professor Pratim Kumar Chattaraj)
FNA ID P08-1459
Address Institute Chair Professor, Department of Chemistry, Indian Institute of Technology,
City Kharagpur
Pin Code 721302
Country India
Gender Male
Specialization Theoretical Chemistry, Nonlinear Dynamics
Service in the Council
Qualification PhD
Membership FASc , FNASc, FTWAS, FRSC
  Award INSA Medal for Young Scientists, 1990
  Year of Election 2008  
E-mail pkc@chem.iitkgp.ac.in
Personal Website http://www.chem.iitkgp.ernet.in/faculty/pkc/web/index.php

Pratim Kumar Chattaraj earned his BSc and MSc degrees from Burdwan University, after which he joined IIT Bombay for his PhD degree where he worked on theoretical chemistry under the supervision of BM Deb. Chattaraj joined IIT Kharagpur as a Lecturer (1988) where he is currently  a Professor in the Department of Chemistry and now he is an Institute Chair Professor there. He is a Distinguished Visiting Professor at IIT Bombay.  He was the Convener, Centre for Theoretical Studies and the Dean (Faculty) at IIT Kharagpur and was also the Convener, Kharagpur Local Chapter of INSA. He visited the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, USA as a post-doctoral Fellow under the guidance of Robert Parr and was also a Visiting Professor/Scientist in the USA, Germany, Mexico and Chile.
Academic and Research Achievements: Chattaraj has been actively engaged in teaching various undergraduate and postgraduate courses and research in the areas of density functional theory, ab-initio calculations, nonlinear dynamics, chemical reactivity and quantum trajectories. He has published more than 400 research and review articles and written book chapters. He has mentored eighteen (three continuing) PhD, twelve post-doc and several MSc and summer project students.
Other Contributions: Professsor Chattaraj has been the convener/resource person of several Academy Lecture Workshops and an organizer of quite a few national and international conferences, and has chaired technical sessions and delivered invited talks in many International conferences in India, USA, Mexico, Chile, Spain, Russia, Poland, Belgium, Greece, France, Australia, Canada, UK, Italy, China, Switzerland, S. Korea, Oman, Norway,  Japan, Sweden, Finland, Singapore, Malaysia, etc. He has written many papers on chemical education. Chattaraj has edited three books (Taylor & Francis) apart from a two volume set of books (CRC, with Prof. S.K.Ghosh) and a special issue each of Journal of Chemical Sciences , Theochem , J. Mol. Model. and Indian Journal of Chemistry A. He has been on the (Advisory) Editorial Board of Journal of Physical Chemistry A/B/C/Letters, Journal of Chemical Sciences (2004-07) ,Journal of Molecular Structure (Theochem), Computational and Theoretical Chemistry (current) and Indian Journal of Chemistry - A.  He is the Editor of the Book Series on Atoms, Molecules and Clusters : Structure, Reactivity and Dynamics ( Taylor and Francis). He occasionally teaches basic chemistry to school students.  He was a council member of CRSI and the Head, Chemistry Dept., IIT Kharagpur. He is a member of the Joint Science Education Panel of the Indian Science Academies.
Awards and Honours: Chattaraj has received several awards and medals including the University Gold Medal (1982), Bardhaman Sammilani Medal (1982), INSA Medal for Young Scientists (1990), Associate of the Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore (1990), BM Birla Science Prize (1997), CRSI Bronze Medal (2000), Dr BC Deb Memorial Award of the Indian Science Congress Association (2002-03) , CRSI Silver Medal (2014) ,  IAAM Medal (2016) , the Institute Chair Professorship Award (2017) , IIT Kharagpur , Acharya P. C. Ray Memorial Award (ICS) (2017) and Prof. Sadhan Basu Memorial Lecture Award, INSA (2020) . He is a Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore (2001), National Academy of Sciences, India, Allahabad (2009) , West Bengal Academy of Science & Technology (2009) , The World Academy of Sciences (2013) and Royal Society of Chemistry (2020). He is a Sir J. C. Bose National Fellow (2010). He is a member of the FWO, Belgium.

       History | Significant Landmark | Objectives | Committees | Local Chapters | Rules | Regulations | Current Fellows National | Current Fellows Foreign | Indian Fellows Elected | Foreign Fellows Elected | Council | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions
©Website design and developed by: INDIAN NATIONAL SCIENCE ACADEMY. Informatics Centre