Home   || Site Map ||    Contact Us

  Subrat Kumar Acharya

Edit Your Details  
Click Here !!

Name Professor SK Acharya
(Professor Subrat Kumar Acharya)
FNA ID P10-1502
Address Professor and Head, Department of Gastroenterology, RNo. 3105, 3rd Floor, Teaching Block, All India Institute of Medical Sciences, Ansari Nagar
City New Delhi
Pin Code 110029
Country India
Gender Male
Specialization Gastro Enterology, Hepatology
Service in the Council
Qualification MBBS, MD, DM
Membership FNASc, FASc
  Year of Election 2010  
E-mail subratacharya2004@yahoo.com
Personal Website

Subrat Kumar Acharya obtained his MBBS from the Berhampur University, Orissa with honours in Pathology, Opthamology , Otto-rhino- laryngology in 1974 and was adjudged as the best outgoing student .He did his MD (General Medicine,1980) from Utkal University, Orissa and DM(Gastroenterology, 1982) from the All India Institute of Medical Sciences(AIIMS), New Delhi. He joined the AIIMS , New Delhi as a lecturer in 1986 and became a Professor in 1997 and has been working as the Head of the department of Gastroenterology at the AIIMS since 2004.
Academic & Research Achievements: Dr.Acharya has special research interest in Liver diseases, particularly in the area of Acute liver Failure, Acute on Chronic liver Failure, Primary liver Cancer, Hepatitis E virus infection , Hepatitis A,B &C Virus infections. He has published about 200 research papers in Indexed international and national journal of repute, some of which provided new knowledge in the particular areas. He has written about 50 invited editorial ,reviews, commentry in such journals and also wrote many chapters in various text books in Gastroenterology & Medicine. His work on Acute liver failure has resulted in identification of new definition, classification, etiology, natural course, prognostic factors, the pathogentic factors and the therapeutic approach of treatment of Acute liver failure as distinct from the west . Based on his work International Association for the study of liver suggested holistic definitions and nomenclature for Acute and sub-acute liver failure. Due to such contributions, Indian Council of Medical Research granted him to establish ‘Advanced Center for Liver Disease ‘ at the AIIMS. He also obtained the patent for developing antibody the hepatitis B Surface Antigen(Anti-HBs).
Other Contributions: Dr.Acharya is the Editor in Chief of ‘Tropical Gastroenterology’ an indexed and the highest cited journal in Gastroenterology from India. He also served as the Editor of Journal of Gastroenterology & hepatology from 2006 -2009 which is the official journal of the Asian Pacific Association of Gastroenterology. He remains to be in editorial board of many Gastroenterology and hepatology journals.He served as the Adviser to Armed Forces Medical Services on research and worked as an consultant to International Atomic Energy Agency to develop radio-isotopic treatment modalities for treatment of Primary liver Cancer .
Awards and Honours: Dr Acharya is a recipient of several awards notably:SR Naik Oration Award by Indian Association of Study of Liver(2010), PN Chuttani Oration award by Indian Society of Gastroenterology(2009), Fellow of INSA(FNA, 2010), Ranbaxy research award(2007), Advanced Center for Liver Disease –ICMR(2005), Samanta chandrasekhar Award by Orissa Bigyan Academy(2005), Fellow of NASI, Allahabad(FNASc,2004), Fellow of Indian Academy of Sciences,Bangalore(F.A.Sc, 2000)),, Mitra Olympus Endoscopy award(1995), PN Berry Trust award(UK, 1991), Commonwealth Fellowship award(1991), Best Young Investigator award by the Australian Society of Gastroenterology(1980), Om-Prakash memorial award for best young Gastroenterologist by Indian Society of Gastroenterology(1990), remained President of Indian Society of Gastroenterology(2006-2008) and Indian Association for the study of Liver(2004-2006)

       History | Significant Landmark | Objectives | Committees | Local Chapters | Rules | Regulations | Current Fellows National | Current Fellows Foreign | Indian Fellows Elected | Foreign Fellows Elected | Council | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions
©Website design and developed by: INDIAN NATIONAL SCIENCE ACADEMY. Informatics Centre