Home   || Site Map ||    Contact Us

  Gautam Biswas

Edit Your Details  
Click Here !!

Name Prof. G Biswas
(Prof. Gautam Biswas)
FNA ID P13-1602
Address Director and JC Bose National Fellow, Indian Institute of Technology,
City Guwahati
Pin Code 781039
Country India
Gender Male
Specialization Heat Transfer, Computational Fluid Dynamics, Fluid Mechanics
Service in the Council
Qualification PhD
Membership FASc, FNAE, FNASc, F-ASME, FIE
  Year of Election 2013  
E-mail gtm@iitg.ernet.in
Personal Website http://home.iitk.ac.in/~gtm/

Prof. Gautam Biswas is currently Director of Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati, India. A Professor of Mechanical Engineering at the Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur, he was the Director of CSIR-CMERI (Central Mechanical Engineering Research Institute), Durgapur before joining IIT Guwahati. Prof. Biswas was the occupant of the position of GD and VM Mehta Endowed Chair Professor of Mechanical Engineering at the Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur. He was a Humboldt Fellow in Germany in 1987-88 and JSPS invited fellow in Japan 1994. He is a Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME). He has served a full term as the Associate Editor of the Journal of Heat Transfer (Trans ASME). He was a Guest Professor at the University of Erlangen-Nuremberg in 2002. He was the Dean of Academic Affairs at IIT Kanpur for three years since January 2003.

 Prof Gautam Biswas is a Fellow of the all three major science academies of India, such as, the Indian National Science Academy (INSA), New Delhi, the Indian Academy of Sciences (IAS, Bangalore) and the National Academy of Sciences India (NASI, Allahabad). He is a Fellow of the Indian National Academy of Engineering (INAE) and Institution of Engineers (India). He delivered prestigious Prof. CNR Rao Lecture in 2010. He has been awarded the esteemed J.C. Bose National Fellowship by the Department of Science and Technology, New Delhi in 2011.

 Prof. Biswas completed his Baccalaureate in Mechanical Engineering from Calcutta University (IIEST, Shibpur) in 1979. In the year 2013, he was bestowed with the Distinguish Alumni Award of BESU (currently IIEST, Shibpur) by the Hon’ble President of India. He completed his MTech and PhD from the Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur in 1981 and 1985 respectively.

  The research group of Biswas at IIT Kanpur identified the phenomenon of Rayleigh-Taylor Instability during the bubble formation in film boiling. This was a significant addition to the classical theory, based on Taylor Helmholtz instability. Some significant contribution related to bubble formation in film boiling are:

 G. Tomar, G. Biswas, A. Sharma and A. Agrawal, Numerical Simulation of Bubble Growth in Film Boiling Using CLSVOF Method, Physics of Fluids, Vol. 17, 112103, (2005).

 G. Tomar, G. Biswas, A. Sharma and S.W.J. Welch, Multi-mode Analysis of Bubble Growth in Saturated Film Boiling, Physics of Fluids, Vol. 20, 092101, (2008).

 G. Tomar, G. Biswas, A. Sharma and S.W.J. Welch, Influence of Electric Field on Saturated Film Boiling, Physics of Fluids, Vol. 21, 032107-1 – 032107-8 (2009).

       History | Significant Landmark | Objectives | Committees | Local Chapters | Rules | Regulations | Current Fellows National | Current Fellows Foreign | Indian Fellows Elected | Foreign Fellows Elected | Council | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions
©Website design and developed by: INDIAN NATIONAL SCIENCE ACADEMY. Informatics Centre