Home   || Site Map ||    Contact Us

  C Siva Ram Murthy

Edit Your Details  
Click Here !!

Name Dr C Siva Ram Murthy
(Dr C Siva Ram Murthy)
FNA ID P13-1628
Address Richard Karp Institute Chair Professor, Department of Computer Science and Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology Madras,
City Chennai
Pin Code 600036
Country India
Gender Male
Specialization Computer Science and Engineering
Service in the Council
Qualification PhD
  Award INSA Medal for Young Scientists, 1991
  Year of Election 2013  
E-mail murthy@iitm.ac.in
Personal Website http://www.cse.iitm.ac.in/~murthy/

C.Siva Ram Murthy earned his B.Tech. degree in Electronics and Communication Engineering from Regional Engineering College (now National Institute of Technology), Warangal, India, in 1982, M.Tech. degree in Computer Engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Kharagpur, India, in 1984, and Ph.D. degree in Computer Science from the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India, in 1988. Since September 1988, he has been with the Department of Computer Science and Engineering at IIT Madras where he is currently the Richard Karp Institute Chair Professor (2016-2025). He has served as Head (Chairman) of the Department from 2010 to 2013 and held the INAE Chair Professorship during 2012-14. He has also held short-term visiting appointments at several European and North American universities. He is currently a Visiting Professor of Computer Science at IIT Hyderabad.

Academic and Research Achievements: Dr.Murthy has made significant fundamental contributions in developing algorithms/protocols for effective use of High Performance  Computers and Communication Systems. His work on the fundamental problem of resource management in high performance (multiprocessor and distributed) real-time systems has led to the development of a novel integrated architecture, with associated algorithms for scheduling,  resource reclaiming, fault-tolerance and communication, which is proved to be theoretically sound and practically efficient enabling one to solve current and future generation real-time applications.  This work further led to two new concepts called primary-backup  multiplexing and segmented-backups  which have a significant impact in realizing efficient survivable high performance [Wavelength Division Multiplexed (WDM)]  communication networks.

He is a co-author of the textbooks Parallel Computers: Architecture and Programming (Prentice-Hall of India, India), New Parallel Algorithms for Direct Solution of Linear Equations (John Wiley & Sons, Inc., USA), Resource Management in Real-time Systems and Networks (MIT Press, USA), WDM Optical Networks: Concepts, Design, and Algorithms (Prentice Hall, USA), An Analytical Approach to Optical Burst Switched Networks (Springer, USA), and Ad Hoc Wireless Networks: Architectures and Protocols (Prentice Hall, USA). His research interests include parallel and distributed computing, real-time computing and communication systems, and wireless networks. He has published over 200 papers in peer-reviewed international journals and over 190 papers in refereed international conference proceedings in these areas.

Other Contributions: Dr.Murthy has served as an Associate Editor of the IEEE Transactions on Computers and IEEE Transactions on Mobile Computing, a Subject Area Editor for the (Elsevier) Journal of Parallel and Distributed Computing (JPDC), and a Section Editor of INAE Letters (Springer, now Transactions of the Indian National Academy of Engineering). He is currently an Area Editor of (Elsevier) Computer Networks Journal.

Awards and Honours: He is a recipient of Best Ph.D. Thesis Award from the Indian Institute of Science, Indian National Science Academy (INSA) Medal for Young Scientists, Dr. Vikram Sarabhai Research Award, IBM  (USA) Real-Time Innovation Award, Erasmus Mundus Academic Staff Scholarship, and JC Bose Fellowship of SERB/DST (2016-2026). He is a co-recipient of Best Paper Awards from  the 5th IEEE International Workshop on Parallel and Distributed Real-Time Systems (WPDRTS), 6th and also 11th IEEE Annual International Conference on High Performance Computing (HiPC), and 14th and also 19th IEEE International Conference on Networks (ICON).  He is an elected Fellow of IEEE (USA), The World Academy of Sciences for the advancement of science in developing countries (TWAS), Indian National Science Academy (INSA), The National Academy of Sciences (NASI), and Indian National Academy of Engineering (INAE).


       History | Significant Landmark | Objectives | Committees | Local Chapters | Rules | Regulations | Current Fellows National | Current Fellows Foreign | Indian Fellows Elected | Foreign Fellows Elected | Council | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions
©Website design and developed by: INDIAN NATIONAL SCIENCE ACADEMY. Informatics Centre