Home   || Site Map ||    Contact Us

  Gautam Kumar Dey

Edit Your Details  
Click Here !!

Name Dr Gautam Kumar Dey
(Dr Gautam Kumar Dey)
FNA ID P16-1714
Address Distinguished Scientist, Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, Trombay,
City Mumbai
Pin Code 400085
Country India
Gender Male
Service in the Council
Qualification PhD
  Award INSA Medal for Young Scientists, 1989
  Year of Election 2016  
Personal Website

Dr. G. K. Dey obtained his B.Tech degree in Metallurgical Engineering from IIT, BHU in the year 1979 and joined Bhabha Atomic Research Centre  in 1980 after successfully completing one year orientation programme on Nuclear Sciences conducted by BARC. He obtained his Ph.D. from IIT, BHU in the year 1988 and did his post-doc from University of Cincinnati. Currently he is Associate Director Materials Group and Head, Materials Science Division, BARC. He is also presently holding the post of Dean, Engineering Sciences, in Homi Bahabha National Institute, Mumbai.

Academic and Research Achievements
Dr. Dey’s wide-ranging studies on Zr based metallic glasses covered their synthesis, in-depth microstructural characterization and applicability. His work on the mechanism of combustion synthesis of several intermetallic compounds including NiTi, the shape memory alloy has been the first.  His work in high power beam welding, diffusion bonding and radiation damage using proxy irradiation is both excellent and technologically relevant.
Dr. Dey is a leading electron microscopist of the country today, and has resolved many difficult questions through his microscopy studies. He has been the first to establish that a hydride phase can form even in the beta phase in Zr rich Zr-Nb alloys under certain conditions and that a plate shaped omega phase can form in the beta phase of Zr-Nb alloy on application of shock pressure. He has pioneered the explanation for the origin of strength in the important alloys Monel K500 and 350 grade maraging steel.
Dr. Dey’s insights on the physical metallurgy of Zr and Nb based alloys have led to the development of new alloys and process routes for advanced reactor applications
.Other Contributions
Dr Dey has been involved in the study of materials from scientific as well as technological angles. He has been also involved in theoretical study of the structure of phases and interfaces. It has given a complete understanding of the materials. Dr. Dey’s pioneering work in the area of high-resolution electron microscopy has enabled characterization of the structure of electronic materials, nano-tubes, nanocrystalline materials and multilayered materials at an atomic level. In the course of his distinguished research career in physical metallurgy, Dr. Dey has competently demonstrated how detailed transmission electron microscopy can be employed in unraveling mechanisms of phase transformations in and deformation behaviour of multiphase alloys.
Awards and Honours
Dr. Dey is a recipient of several awards and honours including Vaisandas Basil Gold Medal (BHU, 1979), Vidya Bharati Award (Indian Institute of Metals, 1979), Hadfield Medal (Mining, Geological and Met. Inst., 1979), Homi Bhabha Award (Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, 1980), Young Scientist Award (INSA, 1989), Young Metallurgist Award (Ministry of Steel and Mines, 1989), Materials Research Society of India (MRSI) Medal (2001), Metallurgist of the Year Award (Indian Institute of Metals, 2003), Vasvik Award, (Vividhlaxi Audyogik Samshodhan Vikas Kendra), 2005, Fellow Indian Academy of Sciences (FASc),  Fellow Indian Academy of Engineering (FNAE), Fellow Electron Microscope Society of India (FEMSI), G D Birla Gold Medal (Indian Institute of Metals), 2011.

       History | Significant Landmark | Objectives | Committees | Local Chapters | Rules | Regulations | Current Fellows National | Current Fellows Foreign | Indian Fellows Elected | Foreign Fellows Elected | Council | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions
©Website design and developed by: INDIAN NATIONAL SCIENCE ACADEMY. Informatics Centre