Home   || Site Map ||    Contact Us

  Balram Bhargava

Edit Your Details  
Click Here !!

Name Professor Balram Bhargava
(Professor Balram Bhargava)
FNA ID P19-1801
Address Secretary, DHR & Director General, Indian Council of Medical Research, Ansari Nagar,
City New Delhi
Pin Code 110029
Country India
Gender Male
Specialization Medicine (Cardiology) and Medtech Innovation
Service in the Council
Qualification MD, DM
Membership FASc, FNASc, FAMS
  Year of Election 2019  
E-mail balrambhargava@yahoo.com
Personal Website

Director General, Indian Council of Medical Research cum Secretary, Department of Health Research, Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, Government of India.

Professor (Dr) Balram Bhargava was born in Lucknow, 21st July 1961.

Academic and Research Achievements: He is an outstanding cardiologist, one of the foremost leaders in biomedical innovation, public health, medical education and medical research. He developed the indigenous Platinum Iridium coil coronary stent and has been instrumental in clinically evaluating and establishing medicated Indian stents. He is an innovator par excellence with innovations touching everyday lives with very huge social impact for which he has started the Society for Less Investigative Medicine (SLIM). He is currently providing leadership for creative disease prevention, early detection and transport system for sick cardiac patients; mission DELHI (Delhi Emergency Life Heart-attack Initiative) by trained motorcycle first respondent paramedics.

Other Contributions: Besides the medical contributions, Professor Balram Bhargava is known for his social commitment. His contributions played a part in the establishment of SLIM, an innovative formed to combat the excessive commercial practices prevalent in India.

Awards and Honours: Professor  Bhargava has been awarded the SN Bose Centenary Award by the Indian National Science Congress, the National Academy of Sciences Platinum Jubilee Award, the Tata Innovation Fellowship the Ranbaxy Award, OP Bhasin Award, Vasvik Award and more recently the UNESCO Equatorial Guinea Prize for Life Sciences; Dr. LEE Jong-Wook Memorial Prize for Public Health, 2019 by WHO Hqrs, Geneva. He is also a recipient of the Padmashri award. He is a Fellow of Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore (FNASc), Fellow of the American Heart Association (FAHA), Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences (FAMS) and a Fellow of the American College of Cardiology. 

       History | Significant Landmark | Objectives | Committees | Local Chapters | Rules | Regulations | Current Fellows National | Current Fellows Foreign | Indian Fellows Elected | Foreign Fellows Elected | Council | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions
©Website design and developed by: INDIAN NATIONAL SCIENCE ACADEMY. Informatics Centre