Home   || Site Map ||    Contact Us

  Mahendra Kumar Verma

Edit Your Details  
Click Here !!

Name Professor M K Verma
(Professor Mahendra Kumar Verma)
FNA ID P20-1856
Address Department of Physics, Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur,
City Kanpur
Pin Code 208016
Country India
Gender Male
Specialization Turbulence, Plasma Physics, Nonlinear Dynamics
Service in the Council
Qualification PhD
Membership FNASc
  Year of Election 2020  
E-mail mkv@iitk.ac.in, mahendra.k.verma@gmail.com
Personal Website http://home.iitk.ac.in/~mkv

Mahendra Verma obtained his B. Tech. degree in Computer Science from IIT Madras in 1988, and Ph. D. degree in Physics from the University of Maryland at College Park in 1994.  For the Ph.D. thesis, he worked under the guidance of Profs. Melvyn Goldstein and Aaron Roberts of NASA Goddard in the field of solar wind and MHD turbulence.  After Ph.D., he joined the Physics Department of IIT Kanpur as a faculty.  In 2007, he spent a year as a Visiting Scientist in Université Libre de Brussels, Brussels. 

Academic and Research Achievements: Dr. Verma\\\'s research interest includes turbulence in fluids, magnetohydrodynamics, and buoyancy-driven flows;  plasma physics; and parallel computing.  Using numerical simulations and analytical arguments, he showed that turbulent thermal convection has properties similar to hydrodynamic turbulence.  He also worked extensively on energy transfers and spectral studies of magnetohydrodynamic turbulence and dynamo. He and his groups have developed very efficient CFD codes TARANG and SARAS. He authored the books “Introduction to Mechanics”, \\\"Physics of Buoyant Flows: From Instabilities to Turbulence\\\", and \\\"Energy Transfers in Fluids Flows: Multiscale and Spectral Perspectives\\\". 

       History | Significant Landmark | Objectives | Committees | Local Chapters | Rules | Regulations | Current Fellows National | Current Fellows Foreign | Indian Fellows Elected | Foreign Fellows Elected | Council | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions
©Website design and developed by: INDIAN NATIONAL SCIENCE ACADEMY. Informatics Centre