Home   || Site Map ||    Contact Us

Agreements / MoU
Indo-Aus EMCR 2016-17
Insa Chairs
International Linkage
Overseas Collaborating Academies
Procedure for Nomination of Indian Scientists under Bilateral Exchange Program
Visit of Foreign Scientists
International Awards
International Visiting Fellowship
Latest Selection List



Since 1968, the Academy has been successfully collaborating with scientific academies/organizations abroad by exchanging research experience and scientific information. Such a relationship is achieved usually through bilateral cooperation i.e. exchange of scientific information and publications, exchange of scientist's visits, cooperative research projects, organization of joint symposia and other scientific activities. The Academy coordinates the exchange programme by facilitating contacts of individuals/scientific institutions in India with those of various foreign collaborating countries. To realize these objectives, the Academy has established Bilateral Agreement/Memorandum of Understanding with 59 Science Academies/Organizations in Europe, Asia, North America, South America and Latin America. Under the Exchange Programme, the visit of the scientists are exchanged under two categories- short term visits for 2-8 weeks and Long term/Fellowship visits upto 6 months. Generally, the senior scientists are nominated for short term visits for having discussion and interaction with Scientists in different Institutions and the young scientists are nominated for longer duration for having collaborative research/training preferably in one institute/laboratory abroad.

In 1989, the Academy instituted the  Jawaharlal Nehru Birth Centenary Medal to be awarded annually for international cooperation in Science & Technology and for contributions to public understanding of Science. Scientists from all nations are eligible for consideration. The first award was made in 1990. The award carries a bronze medal and a citation. The travel and local expenses for the journey performed to deliver the award lecture will be paid to the awardee by the Academy. (for details see International awards)

The Academy, also in 1989 instituted the Jawaharlal Nehru Birth Centenary visiting Fellowship to commemorate Pt. Jawaharlal Nehru's commitment and sustained support for science. This Fellowship enables the Academy to project the achievements of Indian Science & Technology abroad. One Fellowship is awarded every third year to a distinguished Indian Scientist for delivering the series of Lectures abroad not restricted to countries with which the Academy has Exchange Programme( for details see International Visiting Fellowship).

Since 1976, the Indian National Science Academy and The Royal Society, London had been jointly organizing the Blackett Memorial Lecture and the Sir J.C. Bose Memorial Lecture every two years alternately in India and the United Kingdom. The British scientists delivered the Blackett Memorial Lecture in India, whereas the Indian Scientists delivered the Sir J.C. Bose lecture in U.K. Following the communication received from the Royal Society, London, the Blackett Memorial Lecture and the J C Bose Memorial Lecture have been discontinued from 2010 onwards. Further in 2011 INSA has re-established the Lecture series to be awarded to a scientist of international repute in any branch of science.

Beginning 2005, the Academy in association with the French Academy of Sciences instituted “Etienne Wolff- Ramanujan Lecture Series” to be organised alternately in India and France . The Etienne Wolff Lecture is delivered by French scientist in India and the Ramanujan Lecture is delivered in France by the Indian scientist alternately.(see details)

INSA-German National Academy of Sciences, Leopoldina Lecture Series: INSA and German National Academy of Sciences, Leopoldina have jointly taken an initative to establish Lecture series between the two academies. A senior Indian speaker will deliver a (or a series of) lecture/s in Germany in one year and alternatively, a German scientist in India in the following year. This lecture series will be in addition to Indo-German Joint Symposia.(see details)

To support and encourage the scientists and technologists from other developing countries to pursue their research and training in Indian scientific research institutions, the Academy jointly with the Sir Dorabji Tata Trust has instituted a INSA-JRD Tata Fellowship.20 Fellowships are supported annually under this programme. The Fellowship covers to and fro airfare, board and lodging at the affiliated institution/s and a maintenance allowance to meet the incidental and other miscellaneous expenses. Currently. this programme is coordinated by Centre for International Cooperation in Science, (CICS), Chennai (for details see www.cics.tn.nic.in)

The Academy has been a member of the IA Partnership, Third World Network of Scientific Organization(TWNSO), The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) and is playing an active role in promotion of science & technology in the Asian region by cooperating with the Association of Academies and Societies of Sciences in Asia (AASSA), Science Council of Asia (SCA) established by Japan Science Council (SCJ).


       History | Significant Landmark | Objectives | Committees | Local Chapters | Rules | Regulations | Current Fellows National | Current Fellows Foreign | Indian Fellows Elected | Foreign Fellows Elected | Council | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions New Website under constrution
©Website design and developed by: INDIAN NATIONAL SCIENCE ACADEMY. Informatics Centre