Home   || Site Map ||    Contact Us

Foreign Fellows
Sectional Committees
Local Chapters


1. The Council shall appoint, from among the Fellows of the Academy, Committees representing the various branches of Natural Knowledge, called 'Sectional Committees'.

The members of each Committee shall be chosen with a view to secure, as far as possible, a representation of the several sub- divisions of each branch of Natural Knowledge, and to obtain the assistance of Fellows who are specially qualified to advise the Council regarding particular parts of Natural Knowledge.

2.Each Sectional Committee shall advise the Council or any of the Officers on the matters referred to it by the Council or by any of the Officers, and also shall make to the Council suggestions pertaining to the branch or branches of knowledge which it represents. It shall, inter-alia, (a) recommend in alphabetical order, the names of the nominees who in the opinion of the Sectional Committee, are worthy of election to the Fellowship, (b) recommend in order of priority, the names of those who in the opinion of the Sectional Committee, are worthy for the Young Scientist Award of the Academy, (c) advise in connection with communications received from Government on scientific matters of high policy, (d) advise on subjects to be discussed at the Annual General Meeting so that the Academy can play its part in national development and planning, (e) draw up lists of persons suitable for scrutinizing papers submitted for publication indicating the branches which they are competent to deal with, (f) recommend books and journals which should be added to the Academy’s library, (g) suggest original research problems of both fundamental and applied nature, on which work should be initiated in the national interest.

3. The Council shall each year appoint a Member of each Committee to serve as Secretary and Convener of the Committee and to be the channel of communication between the Committee and the Council or the Officers.

4. Sectional Committees: The Sectional Committees shall be ten in number and referred to by their number and not by name. The allocations of subjects to each Committee, which are only indicative but not exhaustive, shall be as follows:



Mathematical Sciences: Applied Mathematics, Pure Mathematics, Theoretical Computer Science, Statistics and Operations Research.


Physics: Astronomy, Astrophysics, Nuclear and High Energy Physics, Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics, Statistical Physics, Theoretical Physics, Mathematical and Computational Physics, Condensed Matter including Soft, Liquids and Nano Materials, Cosmic Radiation, Cosmology, Space Physics, Basic Planetary Sciences, Lasers and Optoelectronics, Plasma Physics, Solar Physics, Atmospheric Physics.


Chemistry: Analytical Chemistry, Inorganic Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, Physical Chemistry, Theoretical and Computational Chemistry, Structural Chemistry, Chemistry of Materials, Medicinal and Pharmaceutical Chemistry, Bio-organic, Bio-inorganic and Bio-physical Chemistry.


Earth & Environmental Sciences: Surface and Solid Earth Science, Applied Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics, Climate Sciences, Meteorology, Geo Engineering, Ocean Sciences, Geo Sciences and Applied Planetary Sciences.


Engineering & Technology: Electrical Engineering, Telecommunication Engineering, Electronics and Optoelectronics, Chemical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Environmental Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Aeronautical Engineering, Metallurgical Engineering, Computer Science and Engineering including Software and Data science, Information Science and Technology, Advanced Materials (such as Bio-materials, Hybrid Materials and Nano Materials), Polymer Science & Engineering.


General Biology: Taxonomy, Structure, Ecology, Environmental Biology, Evolution and Behaviour of Plants, Animals and Microbes including Unicellular Eukaryotes.


Molecular and Cellular Biology: Cell Biology, Physiology, Development, Genetics, Genomics and other Omics of Plants, Animals and Microbes including Unicellular Eukaryotes.


Biomolecular, Structural Biology and Drug Discovery: Biochemistry, Biophysics, Molecular Biology, Pharmacology, Structural Biology, Bioinformatics, Computational Biology, System Biology.


Health Sciences: Basic and Clinical Medical Sciences- Communicable and Non-communicable Diseases, Epidemiology, Anthropology, Psychology, Cognitive and Neurosciences, Medical Genetics and Genomics, Public Health, Nutrition, Immunology.


Agricultural Sciences: Agriculture, Horticulture, Forestry, Fisheries, Food Science, Veterinary Science, Pathogen Biology and Host Pathogen Interaction Both Plant and Veterinary Importance.


5. Each Sectional Committee shall comprise nine Members; five Members shall constitute a quorum.

6. Members shall be retired by seniority, at the rate of one-third every year. Where necessary, retirement shall be determined by ballot. If a Sectional Committee Member is not able to attend the meetings of Sectional Committee in a particular year, the President is authorized to appoint a suitable substitute in his/her place for that year. If any Sectional Committee Member does not attend two consecutive meetings without valid reasons, the Council may appoint a new member in his/her place for the remaining period.

7. The retiring Members of Committee shall each year vacate office on December 31, and shall not be eligible for selection as a Member in the ensuing year. However, this restriction will not be applicable to Fellow(s) appointed by the Council in an interim vacancy.

8. Should an interim vacancy occur at any time, the council shall appoint a Fellow to fill the vacancy, and the retirement of the Fellow so nominated, shall be according to the rules that would have applied to the member whose place he fills provided that, if on the date of retirement the said Fellow has not served more than one year, he shall be eligible for immediate reappointment.

9. The appointment of the Fellows to serve as new Members of the Committee shall be made by the Council in August and the Member, so appointed, shall enter the office on forthcoming January 1.

       History | Significant Landmark | Objectives | Committees | Local Chapters | Rules | Regulations | Current Fellows National | Current Fellows Foreign | Indian Fellows Elected | Foreign Fellows Elected | Council | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions New Website under constrution
©Website design and developed by: INDIAN NATIONAL SCIENCE ACADEMY. Informatics Centre